News 11 Dec 2009

General: Suzuki Australia congratulates 2009 racing teams


suzuki-teamsSuzuki Australia congratulates both the Suzuki Superbike and Motocross / Supercross race teams for their performance over the 2009 season.

In the 2009 Australasian Supercross Championship, Team Rockstar Motul Suzuki star Matt Moss has successfully defended his Super X Pro Lites Championship.  Five wins from as many rounds has resulted in the young charger claiming the title with one round to spare, an achievement identical to that of his maiden 2008 championship victory. It has also been an equally impressive performance for Suzuki’s all new fuel injected 2010 model RM-Z250 in its debut race season, being undefeated in every round from its debut.

Moss also claimed the 2009 Australian National Motocross Pro Lites Championship, securing Suzuki its first ever Pro Lites Motocross title and its first National Motocross Championship since 2005. Moss dominated the series, claiming 13 of 19 races.

In road racing, Team Joe Rocket Suzuki young gun, Josh Waters claimed the Australian Superbike Championship in his rookie season, and the team’s sixth national Superbike crown.

It was a memorable year for the Phil Tainton managed factory outfit with three-time Australian Superbike Champion Shawn Giles and three-time New Zealand Superbike Champion Robbie Bugden (Team Joe Rocket Suzuki Satellite) finishing fourth and fifth respectively.

The 2009 Superbike season also saw the introduction of the GSX-R1000K9, at the fourth round of the Championship. It was a thrilling debut for the all new model with Waters taking the victory and a new Superbike lap record.  The all new GSX-R1000 also recorded three lap records in its first three outings (Eastern Creek, Mallala, Phillip Island), a testament to its race track pedigree.

Suzuki Australia’s factory racing activities now break over the summer period with the 2010 Australian Superbike Championship commencing February 26, 2010 and the first round of the Australian National Motocross Championship scheduled for March 28, 2010.