News 6 Apr 2009


Youthstream press release:

A great Motocross show went on today with four exciting moto’s in between the MX1 and MX2 classes which were won respectively by Josh Coppins and Marvin Musquin.

Clinching two second places Coppins was back to victory after a one year absence from the top step of the podium while De Dycker took the MX1 Championship lead. Musquin sealed his and Honda’s maiden MX2 Grand Prix win courtesy of a dominant performance in heat one.


Yamaha Monster Energy Motocross’ Josh Coppins took his last GP win in Teutschenthal 2008 and this was a great comeback for the Kiwi at Sevlievo. Coppins went 2-2 battling it out with De Dycker in heat one and Barragan in heat two where he led during some laps.

Jonathan Barragan of KTM Silver Action took his personal revenge with the Sevlievo track where last year he crashed while on route to his maiden GP win. The Spaniard was strong in the final part of heat one, trying to pass Nagl several times at the last laps and eventually settling down for fourth. His last moto ended with victory as Barragan was second on the podium.

New Championship leader Ken de Dycker of Teka Suzuki WMX1 won the opening heat but a tough second moto saw him drop to the third step of the podium. The Belgian needs to defend his Championship lead already next weekend as he is just one point ahead of Coppins.

Coppins’ team mate David Philippaerts brought the factory Yamaha home in fourth overall after a strong second heat. Philippaerts moved past Nagl with two laps to go and was then followed by Cairoli, with the duo taking third and fourth.

Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s Nagl rounded off the top five ahead of two time MX2 World Champion Cairoli, who was hampered by a crash in the first heat. Nagl took the holeshot in both races and finished with a third and a fifth place.

Previous Championship leader Tanel Leok was seventh overall and dropped down to third in the Championship.

MX1 Race 1 top ten: 1. Ken de Dycker (BEL, Suzuki), 39:32.380; ; 2. Joshua Coppins (NZL, Yamaha), +0:01.654; 3. Maximilian Nagl (GER, KTM), +0:03.134; 4. Jonathan Barragan (ESP, KTM), +0:04.667; 5. David Philippaerts (ITA, Yamaha), +0:20.761; 6. Tanel Leok (EST, Yamaha), +0:24.429; 7. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, Yamaha), +0:34.633; 8. Steve Ramon (BEL, Suzuki), +0:39.058; 9. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, Honda), +0:40.287; 10. Clement Desalle (BEL, Honda), +0:53.605;

MX1 Race 2 top ten: 1. Jonathan Barragan (ESP, KTM), 39:49.118; ; 2. Joshua Coppins (NZL, Yamaha), +0:03.716; 3. David Philippaerts (ITA, Yamaha), +0:04.672; 4. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, Yamaha), +0:05.144; 5. Maximilian Nagl (GER, KTM), +0:16.094; 6. Tanel Leok (EST, Yamaha), +0:34.952; 7. Steve Ramon (BEL, Suzuki), +0:45.789; 8. Ken de Dycker (BEL, Suzuki), +0:53.790; 9. Billy Mackenzie (GBR, Honda), +1:00.398; 10. Gareth Swanepoel (RSA, Kawasaki), +1:04.942;

MX1 Overall top ten: 1. Joshua Coppins (NZL, Yamaha), 44 points; 2. Jonathan Barragan (ESP, KTM), 43 p.; 3. Ken de Dycker (BEL, Suzuki), 38 p.; 4. David Philippaerts (ITA, Yamaha), 36 p.; 5. Maximilian Nagl (GER, KTM), 36 p.; 6. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, Yamaha), 32 p.; 7. Tanel Leok (EST, Yamaha), 30 p.; 8. Steve Ramon (BEL, Suzuki), 27 p.; 9. David Vuillemin (FRA, Kawasaki), 20 p.; 10. Clement Desalle (BEL, Honda), 17 p.;

MX1 Championship top ten: 1. Ken de Dycker (BEL, Suzuki), 60 points; 2. Joshua Coppins (NZL, Yamaha), 59 p.; 3. Tanel Leok (EST, Yamaha), 55 p.; 4. Jonathan Barragan (ESP, KTM), 54 p.; 5. Maximilian Nagl (GER, KTM), 50 p.; 6. David Philippaerts (ITA, Yamaha), 48 p.; 7. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, Yamaha), 48 p.; 8. Clement Desalle (BEL, Honda), 37 p.; 9. Steve Ramon (BEL, Suzuki), 36 p.; 10. Aigar Leok (EST, TM), 23 p.;

Complete results available at


Since the MX2 class was established in 2004 Honda had never taken a GP win but the first career Grand Prix win of Marvin Musquin handed the manufacturer their first success in the class. The Frenchman of Team NGS dominated the qualifying and started from pole in today’s heats. He won the first one despite a crash and in the second heat a bad start and several mistakes forced him to settle in third.

Championship leader Gautier Paulin of Team Bud Racing Kawasaki PSM rode two smart heats and took two second places that helped him maintain a four point lead over new runner up Musquin.

An all French podium was completed by Teka Suzuki Europe World MX2’s Xavier Boog who had never finished on the rostrum before. Finishing two times fourth Boog battled it out with Guarneri in the first heat.

Yamaha Monster Energy Motocross Ricci’s Nicolas Aubin was fourth overall and missed the podium by just three points. His team mate Guarneri finished right behind him.

Simpson struggled to find his rhythm and finished a bitter sixth overall ahead of Frossard. The latter was on route to take victory in the first heat but a technical problem stopped him. The second heat was a different story for the CLS rider as he went out and took his maiden victory.

MX2 Race 1 top ten: 1. Marvin Musquin (FRA, Honda), 40:17.207; ; 2. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:05.163; 3. Nicolas Aubin (FRA, Yamaha), +0:17.238; 4. Xavier Boog (FRA, Suzuki), +0:22.518; 5. Davide Guarneri (ITA, Yamaha), +0:27.039; 6. Zach Osborne (USA, Yamaha), +0:29.354; 7. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, KTM), +0:29.441; 8. Shaun Simpson (GBR, KTM), +0:33.471; 9. Joel Roelants (BEL, KTM), +0:52.877; 10. Khounsith Vongsana (FRA, Honda), +0:56.991;

MX2 Race 2 top ten: 1. Steven Frossard (FRA, Kawasaki), 40:29.542; ; 2. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:04.365; 3. Marvin Musquin (FRA, Honda), +0:18.956; 4. Xavier Boog (FRA, Suzuki), +0:20.430; 5. Davide Guarneri (ITA, Yamaha), +0:27.027; 6. Rui Goncalves (POR, KTM), +0:29.204; 7. Shaun Simpson (GBR, KTM), +0:32.492; 8. Nicolas Aubin (FRA, Yamaha), +0:32.882; 9. Marcus Schiffer (GER, KTM), +0:43.521; 10. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, KTM), +0:43.898;

MX2 Overall top ten: 1. Marvin Musquin (FRA, Honda), 45 points; 2. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Kawasaki), 44 p.; 3. Xavier Boog (FRA, Suzuki), 36 p.; 4. Nicolas Aubin (FRA, Yamaha), 33 p.; 5. Davide Guarneri (ITA, Yamaha), 32 p.; 6. Shaun Simpson (GBR, KTM), 27 p.; 7. Steven Frossard (FRA, Kawasaki), 25 p.; 8. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, KTM), 25 p.; 9. Rui Goncalves (POR, KTM), 24 p.; 10. Zach Osborne (USA, Yamaha), 23 p.;

MX2 Championship top ten: 1. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Kawasaki), 69 points; 2. Marvin Musquin (FRA, Honda), 65 p.; 3. Davide Guarneri (ITA, Yamaha), 50 p.; 4. Nicolas Aubin (FRA, Yamaha), 47 p.; 5. Xavier Boog (FRA, Suzuki), 45 p.; 6. Shaun Simpson (GBR, KTM), 37 p.; 7. Steven Frossard (FRA, Kawasaki), 33 p.; 8. Joel Roelants (BEL, KTM), 30 p.; 9. Alessandro Lupino (ITA, Yamaha), 28 p.; 10. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, KTM), 25 p.;

Complete results available at


Circuit length: 1680 mt

Temperature: 21° C

Weather conditions: dry

Crowd attendance: 28000

As the whole FIM Motocross World Championship, this Grand Prix and the Women’s World Championship Race 2 will be broadcast live and delayed. Click here to see schedule and coverage online.


The next round of the World MX1/MX2 Championship is to happen next weekend in Istanbul, Turkey, where the series goes for the first time. The WMX series continues on May 10 at Agueda, Portugal.