News 11 May 2009


Youthstream press release:

A fantastic Portuguese Grand Prix ended with Rui Goncalves’ home win, which was a great achievement for the Factory MX2 KTM rider and his second consecutive GP win as well.

Tony Cairoli came back to victory in MX1 where he dominated both motos and consolidated his Championship lead. Though a contact between Cairoli and defending Champion Philippaerts during a partially wet second moto saw the latter pull out with a broken left index-Philippaerts will be present next weekend at Bellpuig anyways.


Tony Cairoli impressed in this fifth round of fifteen of the FIM Motocross World Championship as he took his second season’s win to become the only rider in the category to have won twice so far. Yamaha Red Bull De Carli’s Cairoli won both moto’s. In heat one he was handed the second spot by Philippaerts –who crashed- then moved past De Dycker to pull away with the lead. In heat two a bad start saw the Italian enter the top four later. In a close fight in between Desalle, Cairoli and Philippaerts the Italians tangled up with each other and Philippaerts pulled out with a broken left index.

Teka Suzuki WMX1’s De Dycker, who started from pole, settled for two second places as the overall result of second saw the Belgian move up to the runner up spot in the MX1 Championship standings. De Dycker led 16 laps throughout the moto’s then was passed by Cairoli.

Clement Desalle of LS Motors Honda rounded off the rostrum courtesy of two third places in the heats. The Belgian experienced the thrills of leading a GP moto for the first time ever in his career as he held the top spot for two laps.

Yamaha Monster Energy Motocross’ Coppins finished in fourth ahead of Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s Nagl.

An injured Barragan soldiered on throughout the weekend to take tenth overall. The Spaniard lost the runner up spot in the Championship and dropped down to third.

MX1 Race 1 top ten: 1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, Yamaha), 39:32.718; ; 2. Ken de Dycker (BEL, Suzuki), +0:07.035; 3. Clement Desalle (BEL, Honda), +0:12.446; 4. Maximilian Nagl (GER, KTM), +0:14.608; 5. David Philippaerts (ITA, Yamaha), +0:16.374; 6. Tanel Leok (EST, Yamaha), +0:21.134; 7. Joshua Coppins (NZL, Yamaha), +0:50.988; 8. Jonathan Barragan (ESP, KTM), +0:54.914; 9. Gregory Aranda (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:58.430; 10. Gareth Swanepoel (RSA, Kawasaki), +1:11.378;

MX1 Race 2 top ten: 1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, Yamaha), 40:13.107; ; 2. Ken de Dycker (BEL, Suzuki), +0:10.571; 3. Clement Desalle (BEL, Honda), +0:18.792; 4. Joshua Coppins (NZL, Yamaha), +0:20.312; 5. Tanel Leok (EST, Yamaha), +0:40.474; 6. David Vuillemin (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:49.212; 7. Maximilian Nagl (GER, KTM), +0:58.709; 8. Gareth Swanepoel (RSA, Kawasaki), +1:09.139; 9. Gregory Aranda (FRA, Kawasaki), +1:15.733; 10. Jonathan Barragan (ESP, KTM), +1:31.163;

MX1 Overall top ten: 1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, Yamaha), 50 points; 2. Ken de Dycker (BEL, Suzuki), 44 p.; 3. Clement Desalle (BEL, Honda), 40 p.; 4. Joshua Coppins (NZL, Yamaha), 32 p.; 5. Maximilian Nagl (GER, KTM), 32 p.; 6. Tanel Leok (EST, Yamaha), 31 p.; 7. David Vuillemin (FRA, Kawasaki), 25 p.; 8. Gareth Swanepoel (RSA, Kawasaki), 24 p.; 9. Gregory Aranda (FRA, Kawasaki), 24 p.; 10. Jonathan Barragan (ESP, KTM), 24 p.;

MX1 Championship top ten: 1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, Yamaha), 193 points; 2. Ken de Dycker (BEL, Suzuki), 168 p.; 3. Jonathan Barragan (ESP, KTM), 152 p.; 4. Joshua Coppins (NZL, Yamaha), 144 p.; 5. Tanel Leok (EST, Yamaha), 142 p.; 6. David Philippaerts (ITA, Yamaha), 134 p.; 7. Clement Desalle (BEL, Honda), 126 p.; 8. Maximilian Nagl (GER, KTM), 119 p.; 9. Steve Ramon (BEL, Suzuki), 100 p.; 10. Kevin Strijbos (BEL, Honda), 82 p.;

MX1 Manufacturers: 1. Yamaha, 216 points; 2. Suzuki, 179 p.; 3. KTM, 166 p.; 4. Honda, 158 p.; 5. Kawasaki, 87 p.; 6. TM, 67 p.; 7. Aprilia, 51 p.; 8. CCM, 27 p.; 9. Husqvarna, 0 p.;


Rui Goncalves made the day of the Portuguese fans as the Red Bull KTM Factory Racing rider went on to take the overall victory at home in Agueda. This was the second consecutive win for Goncalves, who had recently won his maiden GP at Valkenswaard. Taking two strong starts, Goncalves was forced to settle into second in race one when Musquin stormed from the back of the group to an incredible win. Heat two was Goncalves’ revenge with Rui leaving runner up Frossard seven seconds behind.

CLS’ Frossard was second on his first season podium despite he started from pole. The French hard pack specialist struggled to find his rhythm in both races while in the second heat he lost vital time to pass a tough Guarneri – the duo set up a dogfight which lasted more than half race.

Musquin completed the podium despite a disastrous qualifying yesterday, when he had to retire after a crash. Following an incredible win in heat one, Musquin could consolidate the second place in the Championship courtesy of a sixth place finish.

Yamaha Monster Energy Ricci Motocross’ Davide Guarneri and Loic Larrieu completed the top five right ahead of Championship leader Paulin and debutant Roczen.

The latter impressed with a fourth place finish in heat two despite starting from 26th on the grid.

MX2 Race 1 top ten: 1. Marvin Musquin (FRA, Honda), 39:53.534; ; 2. Rui Goncalves (POR, KTM), +0:02.587; 3. Steven Frossard (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:02.923; 4. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:21.629; 5. Davide Guarneri (ITA, Yamaha), +0:29.869; 6. Loic Larrieu (FRA, Yamaha), +0:33.387; 7. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, KTM), +0:40.667; 8. Nicolas Aubin (FRA, Yamaha), +0:43.076; 9. Ken Roczen (GER, Suzuki), +0:47.651; 10. Alessandro Lupino (ITA, Yamaha), +0:50.485;

MX2 Race 2 top ten: 1. Rui Goncalves (POR, KTM), 39:10.794; ; 2. Steven Frossard (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:07.812; 3. Davide Guarneri (ITA, Yamaha), +0:10.843; 4. Ken Roczen (GER, Suzuki), +0:13.149; 5. Loic Larrieu (FRA, Yamaha), +0:15.004; 6. Marvin Musquin (FRA, Honda), +0:25.511; 7. Xavier Boog (FRA, Suzuki), +0:27.974; 8. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:33.318; 9. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, KTM), +0:47.567; 10. Marcus Schiffer (GER, KTM), +1:00.810;

MX2 Overall top ten: 1. Rui Goncalves (POR, KTM), 47 points; 2. Steven Frossard (FRA, Kawasaki), 42 p.; 3. Marvin Musquin (FRA, Honda), 40 p.; 4. Davide Guarneri (ITA, Yamaha), 36 p.; 5. Loic Larrieu (FRA, Yamaha), 31 p.; 6. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Kawasaki), 31 p.; 7. Ken Roczen (GER, Suzuki), 30 p.; 8. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, KTM), 26 p.; 9. Alessandro Lupino (ITA, Yamaha), 21 p.; 10. Evgeny Bobryshev (RUS, Yamaha), 16 p.;

MX2 Championship top ten: 1. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Kawasaki), 171 points; 2. Marvin Musquin (FRA, Honda), 165 p.; 3. Davide Guarneri (ITA, Yamaha), 147 p.; 4. Rui Goncalves (POR, KTM), 125 p.; 5. Xavier Boog (FRA, Suzuki), 108 p.; 6. Steven Frossard (FRA, Kawasaki), 105 p.; 7. Zach Osborne (USA, Yamaha), 100 p.; 8. Nicolas Aubin (FRA, Yamaha), 98 p.; 9. Shaun Simpson (GBR, KTM), 97 p.; 10. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, KTM), 72 p.;

MX2 Manufacturers: 1. Kawasaki, 191 points; 2. KTM, 180 p.; 3. Yamaha, 177 p.; 4. Honda, 171 p.; 5. Suzuki, 128 p.; 6. TM, 5 p.;


Circuit length: 1650 mt

Temperature: 20° C

Weather conditions: cloudy

Crowd attendance during weekend: 25000

As the whole FIM Motocross World Championship, this Grand Prix and the FIM Women’s World Championship Race 2 will be broadcast live and delayed. Click here to see schedule and coverage online.


Round six of 15 will take the FIM Motocross World Championship to Bellpuig, Spain, on the May 17 weekend together with round three of the FIM Women’s World Championship.