News 8 Jun 2009

World MX: KTM riders Nagl and Musquin sweep French GP

Youthstream PR:

This year’s French Grand Prix rewarded a huge enthusiastic crowd with the victory of home rider Marvin Musquin, the first Frenchman to ever win an MX2 Grand Prix at Ernee.

Under very changeable weather conditions KTM fellow rider Nagl won the MX1 Grand Prix as both dominated today’s four heats which they led from the start to the flag.
Philippaerts and Cairoli rounded off the MX1 podium as an all French rostrum was completed by Boissiere and Larrieu.


Building on his first season podium from last weekend, Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s Nagl took his second career GP win as he went on to dominate both heats in Ernee. Nagl showed renewed confidence in Ernee and the move to third in the Championship standings will be a great calling for his fans ahead of the German’s home GP in Teutschenthal in two weeks.

Yamaha Monster Energy Motocross’ Philippaerts extended his podium row to three as he ended second overall in Ernee. A strong performance in the first moto, which he ended in second, was followed by a difficult second heat as he crashed and was forced to work his way up through the pack.

Cairoli was back on the podium taking third behind Philippaerts. The Italian, who still leads the MX1 Championship, managed to lose just four points from runner up Philippaerts even though he experienced two eventful heats. In heat one he was involved in a tangle ending seventh while in heat two he put together a strong recovery to end second.

Other Yamaha Red Bull De Carli racer Leok was fourth overall ahead of yesterday’s pole man Desalle. After a solid opening heat the Belgian crashed twice in moto two.

Pichon was the highest placed home rider with seventh overall while De Dycker’s hopes of a podium finish ended with a dnf in moto two due to a broken footpeg.

Church instead ended 12th overall and managed to remain with the front runners at the beginning of heat two.

MX1 Race 1 top ten: 1. Maximilian Nagl (GER, KTM), 41:20.506; ; 2. David Philippaerts (ITA, Yamaha), +0:16.244; 3. Ken de Dycker (BEL, Suzuki), +0:47.406; 4. Clement Desalle (BEL, Honda), +0:58.202; 5. Mickael Pichon (FRA, Honda), +1:05.130; 6. Joshua Coppins (NZL, Yamaha), +1:08.726; 7. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, Yamaha), +1:29.764; 8. Tanel Leok (EST, Yamaha), +1:50.119; 9. Aigar Leok (EST, TM), +2:12.353; 10. Tom Church (GBR, CCM), -1 lap(s);

MX1 Race 2 top ten: 1. Maximilian Nagl (GER, KTM), 41:08.999; ; 2. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, Yamaha), +0:12.302; 3. Tanel Leok (EST, Yamaha), +0:15.822; 4. David Philippaerts (ITA, Yamaha), +0:19.173; 5. Billy Mackenzie (GBR, Honda), +0:22.343; 6. Clement Desalle (BEL, Honda), +0:24.320; 7. Joshua Coppins (NZL, Yamaha), +0:32.330; 8. Aigar Leok (EST, TM), +1:12.048; 9. Mickael Pichon (FRA, Honda), +1:18.576; 10. Jason Dougan (GBR, CCM), +1:21.536;

MX1 Overall top ten: 1. Maximilian Nagl (GER, KTM), 50 points; 2. David Philippaerts (ITA, Yamaha), 40 p.; 3. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, Yamaha), 36 p.; 4. Tanel Leok (EST, Yamaha), 33 p.; 5. Clement Desalle (BEL, Honda), 33 p.; 6. Joshua Coppins (NZL, Yamaha), 29 p.; 7. Mickael Pichon (FRA, Honda), 28 p.; 8. Aigar Leok (EST, TM), 25 p.; 9. Manuel Priem (BEL, Aprilia), 20 p.; 10. Ken de Dycker (BEL, Suzuki), 20 p.;

MX1 Championship top ten: 1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, Yamaha), 291 points; 2. David Philippaerts (ITA, Yamaha), 261 p.; 3. Maximilian Nagl (GER, KTM), 248 p.; 4. Joshua Coppins (NZL, Yamaha), 238 p.; 5. Clement Desalle (BEL, Honda), 237 p.; 6. Ken de Dycker (BEL, Suzuki), 228 p.; 7. Tanel Leok (EST, Yamaha), 223 p.; 8. Jonathan Barragan (ESP, KTM), 215 p.; 9. Gareth Swanepoel (RSA, Kawasaki), 120 p.; 10. Aigar Leok (EST, TM), 118 p.;

MX1 Manufacturers: 1. Yamaha, 352 points; 2. KTM, 308 p.; 3. Honda, 272 p.; 4. Suzuki, 243 p.; 5. Kawasaki, 155 p.; 6. TM, 118 p.; 7. Aprilia, 98 p.; 8. CCM, 66 p.; 9. Husaberg, 0 p.; 10. Husqvarna, 0 p.;


The MX2 Grand Prix saw an incredibly strong Musquin who steered his works KTM to two dominant heat wins as KTM fellow rider Nagl did in MX1. Right after winning two heats at Mallory Park for the first time in his career, Musquin built on his Championship lead courtesy of another haul of 50 points. The Frenchman led the pack into the opening turn after both starts and from then on he displayed an incredible pace which no one could match.

KTM HDI MX’s Boissiere gave him chase in the first moto but never managed to close the gap. Second heat was another story due to a flat tyre, though an eventual seventh was enough for Boissiere to end on his second season podium.

Young gun Larrieu put together two strong heats to collect his first career podium with third overall. The Yamaha Monster Energy Ricci Motocross rider took two good starts and finished fourth and fifth in the heats.

Completing a French top four was Paulin, with the Kawasaki Bud Racing man being again consistent to keep the runner up spot in the Championship.

Teka Suzuki Europe World MX2’s Roczen made up for a difficult first moto with an incredible second place in moto two, when he started a lot better. The young German even slipped throughout the heat but that caused no damage to his eventual result. Roczen is now 10th in the Championship after he completed just four Grand Prix’s.

Guarneri remained third in the Championship as he finished sixth while fourth placed Goncalves had a bad day ending 11th.

MX2 Race 1 top ten: 1. Marvin Musquin (FRA, KTM), 41:36.339; ; 2. Anthony Boissiere (FRA, KTM), +0:10.784; 3. Steven Frossard (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:28.291; 4. Loic Larrieu (FRA, Yamaha), +0:52.210; 5. Arnaud Tonus (SUI, KTM), +1:03.251; 6. Valentin Teillet (FRA, KTM), +1:11.337; 7. Loic Rombaut (FRA, Kawasaki), +1:18.584; 8. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Kawasaki), +1:20.398; 9. Nicolas Aubin (FRA, Yamaha), +1:23.480; 10. Rui Goncalves (POR, KTM), +1:25.855;

MX2 Race 2 top ten: 1. Marvin Musquin (FRA, KTM), 40:24.450; ; 2. Ken Roczen (GER, Suzuki), +0:10.728; 3. Davide Guarneri (ITA, Yamaha), +0:20.134; 4. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Kawasaki), +0:26.428; 5. Loic Larrieu (FRA, Yamaha), +0:35.910; 6. Manuel Monni (ITA, Yamaha), +0:42.811; 7. Anthony Boissiere (FRA, KTM), +0:45.057; 8. Nicolas Aubin (FRA, Yamaha), +0:46.819; 9. Joel Roelants (BEL, KTM), +0:55.077; 10. Valentin Teillet (FRA, KTM), +1:16.745;

MX2 Overall top ten: 1. Marvin Musquin (FRA, KTM), 50 points; 2. Anthony Boissiere (FRA, KTM), 36 p.; 3. Loic Larrieu (FRA, Yamaha), 34 p.; 4. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Kawasaki), 31 p.; 5. Ken Roczen (GER, Suzuki), 28 p.; 6. Davide Guarneri (ITA, Yamaha), 27 p.; 7. Steven Frossard (FRA, Kawasaki), 27 p.; 8. Valentin Teillet (FRA, KTM), 26 p.; 9. Nicolas Aubin (FRA, Yamaha), 25 p.; 10. Joel Roelants (BEL, KTM), 22 p.;

MX2 Championship top ten: 1. Marvin Musquin (FRA, KTM), 284 points; 2. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Kawasaki), 250 p.; 3. Davide Guarneri (ITA, Yamaha), 235 p.; 4. Rui Goncalves (POR, KTM), 222 p.; 5. Steven Frossard (FRA, Kawasaki), 205 p.; 6. Xavier Boog (FRA, Suzuki), 177 p.; 7. Nicolas Aubin (FRA, Yamaha), 161 p.; 8. Manuel Monni (ITA, Yamaha), 134 p.; 9. Jeremy van Horebeek (BEL, KTM), 128 p.; 10. Ken Roczen (GER, Suzuki), 120 p.;

MX2 Manufacturers: 1. KTM, 330 points; 2. Kawasaki, 302 p.; 3. Yamaha, 281 p.; 4. Suzuki, 226 p.; 5. Honda, 213 p.; 6. TM, 9 p.;

Circuit length: 1560 mt
Type of ground: hard pack
Temperature: 14° C
Weather conditions: changeable (sun and rain)
Crowd attendance during weekend: 38000

As the whole FIM Motocross World Championship, this Grand Prix and the FIM Women’s World Championship Race 2 will be broadcast live and delayed. Click here to see schedule and coverage online.


Round eight of 15 will take the FIM Motocross World Championship to Teutschenthal, Germany, on the June 21 weekend together with round five of the FIM Women’s World Championship.