News 10 Jul 2009

ASBK: Kirk McCarthy Memorial Award applications now open



10.5: Apocalypse hd

Application forms for the 2009 Kirk McCarthy Memorial Award are now available on Motorcycling Australia’s website at

Applications close 14 August 2009, and a perpetual trophy will be awarded to the winner at a presentation dinner to be held at the last round of the 2009 Australian Superbike Championship (ASBK).

Completed application forms and supporting information should be sent to:

Motorcycling Australia
PO Box 134
South Melbourne VIC 3205
Email: [email protected]

The award, established by the family of the late Kirk McCarthy and in conjunction Motorcycling Australia and a number of industry partners, is open to riders competing in all ASBK classes and will provide the winner with both financial and product support to contest the 2010 ASBK Series.

McCarthy, who passed away following an incident at the penultimate round of the ASC on Sunday 15 August 2004, enjoyed a distinguished national and international racing career, which included stints in both the 500cc GP and Superbike World Championships following his crowning as 1995 Australian Superbike Champion.

Applicants for the 2009 award will be assessed on a number of qualities including their general and professional attitude, ability, presentation both on and off the track as well as their dedication and commitment to achieving their goals.

Assessment of all applications will be completed by a panel consisting of representatives from the McCarthy family, Motorcycling Australia and the motorcycling industry.

Previous winners of this prestigious award and perpetual trophy include Chas Hern, Shannon Etheridge, Ian Andrews and Mitchell Carr.