News 28 Jul 2009

MotoGP: Five Australians confirmed for Phillip Island 125GP


Motorcycling Australia (MA) is happy to announce that five Australian riders have been granted Wildcard entries into the 125cc class at the 2009 Australian MotoGP, to be held at Phillip Island from 15 – 18 October.

Andrew Lawson (Brookfield QLD), Dylan Mavin (Jimboomba QLD) and Nicholas Diles (Melbourne VIC) have all been granted FMN wildcards by MA, while Brad Gross (Morayfield QLD) and Levi Day (Mt. Gambier SA) have been allocated wildcards from the FIM (subject to FIM approval).

Gross is the only rider of the five to have experienced riding at the event as a Wildcard, having earned himself the same opportunity in 2008 where he performed extremely well to qualify for the main race.

The wildcard entries are a fantastic opportunity to showcase young talent rising through the ranks of Australian motorcycle racing.

The event will provide the five riders with the chance to race at an international level in front of a passionate home crowd.

MA has not nominated any wildcard entries for the 250cc class of racing.

Keep up to date with all of the action in the lead-up to the 2009 Australian MotoGP by visiting MA’s dedicated Microsite at