News 31 Aug 2009

World MX: Cairoli crowned MX1 champion in the Netherlands


The Braun Grand Prix of The Netherlands assigned the first of the two remaining Titles as Cairoli won his maiden MX1 Championship despite a damaged left knee.

De Dycker went on to dominate both motos and take the overall, with Coppins and Desalle completing the podium. Nagl crashed in heat one and decided to ride safe in heat two to at least build on his second place in the Championship.

The Title quest remains open in the MX2 class even if series leader Musquin wrapped up today’s overall ahead of second placed in the Championship Goncalves. Roczen completed the podium as third placed in the Championship Paulin ended 20th and lost his chance to fight for the Title in the final round in Brazil.


Yamaha Red Bull De Carli’s Cairoli wrapped up his third World Championship Title in Lierop despite a left knee issue that made it a tough outing for the Italian. Cairoli rode two brave races, finishing fifth in heat one after a mistake and fourth in heat two. Once he snatched fourth from Nagl in the final heat Cairoli had the Title under his belt courtesy of a 50 point advantage in the Championship standings though he tried to move past Desalle as well.

Red Bull KTM Factory Racing’s Nagl struggled as he crashed in heat one while he was holding third. The German took eighth eventually but despite the holeshot in heat two he just rode to build on his runner up spot in the Championship.

Pole man De Dycker dominated both motos by taking two first places. The Teka Suzuki World MX1 man grabbed his second season’s win ahead of Yamaha Monster Energy Motocross’ Coppins who had a dogfight with Desalle to take an eventual second in heat two. Eventually Coppins made it to his third season’s podium.

Desalle completed the podium but several crashes in the opening heat left the LS Motors Honda man disappointed to have lost valuable Championship points.

Tanel Leok was fourth overall ahead of last year’s MX1 World Champion Philippaerts, performing well in heat one to take second.

Barragan was 13th at his comeback race as last year’s Lierop winner De Reuver was 16th.

Matching Cairoli’s victory, Yamaha won the manufacturers’ Title.

MX1 Race 1 top ten: . Ken de Dycker (BEL, Suzuki), 41:21.920; ; 2. David Philippaerts (ITA, Yamaha), +0:05.058; 3. Tanel Leok (EST, Yamaha), +0:05.641; 4. Joshua Coppins (NZL, Yamaha), +0:12.075; 5. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, Yamaha), +0:29.008; 6. Clement Desalle (BEL, Honda), +0:36.742; 7. Steve Ramon (BEL, Suzuki), +0:51.600; 8. Maximilian Nagl (GER, KTM), +0:58.664; 9. Manuel Priem (BEL, Aprilia), +1:01.269; 10. Gareth Swanepoel (RSA, Kawasaki), +1:28.918;

MX1 Race 2 top ten: 1. Ken de Dycker (BEL, Suzuki), 42:25.366; ; 2. Joshua Coppins (NZL, Yamaha), +0:10.466; 3. Clement Desalle (BEL, Honda), +0:14.649; 4. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, Yamaha), +0:34.631; 5. Maximilian Nagl (GER, KTM), +0:38.477; 6. Tanel Leok (EST, Yamaha), +0:51.271; 7. Jonathan Barragan (ESP, KTM), +1:01.217; 8. David Philippaerts (ITA, Yamaha), +1:07.894; 9. Aigar Leok (EST, TM), +1:19.044; 10. Steve Ramon (BEL, Suzuki), +1:32.057;

MX1 Overall top ten: 1. Ken de Dycker (BEL, Suzuki), 50 points; 2. Joshua Coppins (NZL, Yamaha), 40 p.; 3. Clement Desalle (BEL, Honda), 35 p.; 4. Tanel Leok (EST, Yamaha), 35 p.; 5. David Philippaerts (ITA, Yamaha), 35 p.; 6. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, Yamaha), 34 p.; 7. Maximilian Nagl (GER, KTM), 29 p.; 8. Steve Ramon (BEL, Suzuki), 25 p.; 9. Aigar Leok (EST, TM), 21 p.; 10. Gareth Swanepoel (RSA, Kawasaki), 20 p.;

MX1 Championship top ten: 1. Antonio Cairoli (ITA, Yamaha), 537 points; 2. Maximilian Nagl (GER, KTM), 487 p.; 3. David Philippaerts (ITA, Yamaha), 463 p.; 4. Clement Desalle (BEL, Honda), 461 p.; 5. Ken de Dycker (BEL, Suzuki), 459 p.; 6. Joshua Coppins (NZL, Yamaha), 449 p.; 7. Tanel Leok (EST, Yamaha), 382 p.; 8. Gareth Swanepoel (RSA, Kawasaki), 238 p.; 9. Jonathan Barragan (ESP, KTM), 229 p.; 10. Manuel Priem (BEL, Aprilia), 195 p.;

MX1 Manufacturers: 1. Yamaha, 615 points; 2. KTM, 547 p.; 3. Honda, 496 p.; 4. Suzuki, 476 p.; 5. Kawasaki, 292 p.; 6. Aprilia, 228 p.; 7. TM, 193 p.; 8. CCM, 152 p.; 9. Husaberg, 0 p.; 10. Husqvarna, 0 p.;


The Red Bull KTM Factory Racing Team took the first and the second spot at the Braun Grand Prix of The Netherlands with Championship leader Musquin winning and runner up in the Championship Goncalves ending second. The two are the sole riders left in the wrestle for the Title as a broken engine in heat one put an end to Paulin’s ambitions.

Goncalves went on to win moto one while Musquin took second. The Frenchman, who went down in the opening lap, was handed second as Roelants crashed as well. The Belgian of the KTM Factory Junior MX2 Team was an eventual third ahead of young gun Roczen.

The latter took the holeshot in moto two but let Goncalves and Musquin go from lap two. Musquin grabbed the lead and pulled away while Goncalves crashed twice, struggling with a damaged right shoulder. Teka Suzuki Europe World MX2’s Roczen snatched second from a troubled Goncalves and made it to third on the podium.

Roelants took fourth overall ahead of home rider Kras.

MX2 Race 1 top ten: 1. Rui Goncalves (POR, KTM), 40:22.468; ; 2. Marvin Musquin (FRA, KTM), +0:29.397; 3. Joel Roelants (BEL, KTM), +0:55.449; 4. Ken Roczen (GER, Suzuki), +1:05.364; 5. Mike Kras (NED, KTM), +1:15.289; 6. Dennis Verbruggen (BEL, Honda), +1:29.854; 7. Davide Guarneri (ITA, Yamaha), +1:40.779; 8. Ceriel Klein Kromhof (NED, KTM), +1:44.178; 9. Loic Larrieu (FRA, Yamaha), +1:46.209; 10. Nikolai Larsen (DEN, Suzuki), +1:49.606;

MX2 Race 2 top ten: 1. Marvin Musquin (FRA, KTM), 41:32.470; ; 2. Ken Roczen (GER, Suzuki), +0:27.364; 3. Rui Goncalves (POR, KTM), +0:44.963; 4. Jeremy van Horebeek (BEL, KTM), +0:49.788; 5. Joel Roelants (BEL, KTM), +1:00.876; 6. Shaun Simpson (GBR, KTM), +1:03.945; 7. Xavier Boog (FRA, Suzuki), +1:42.665; 8. Mike Kras (NED, KTM), +1:49.892; 9. Dennis Verbruggen (BEL, Honda), +1:55.531; 10. Nicolas Aubin (FRA, Yamaha), +1:59.254;

MX2 Overall top ten: 1. Marvin Musquin (FRA, KTM), 47 points; 2. Rui Goncalves (POR, KTM), 45 p.; 3. Ken Roczen (GER, Suzuki), 40 p.; 4. Joel Roelants (BEL, KTM), 36 p.; 5. Mike Kras (NED, KTM), 29 p.; 6. Dennis Verbruggen (BEL, Honda), 27 p.; 7. Ceriel Klein Kromhof (NED, KTM), 21 p.; 8. Jeremy van Horebeek (BEL, KTM), 18 p.; 9. Xavier Boog (FRA, Suzuki), 18 p.; 10. Manuel Monni (ITA, Yamaha), 18 p.;

MX2 Championship top ten: 1. Marvin Musquin (FRA, KTM), 490 points; 2. Rui Goncalves (POR, KTM), 468 p.; 3. Gautier Paulin (FRA, Kawasaki), 422 p.; 4. Davide Guarneri (ITA, Yamaha), 387 p.; 5. Ken Roczen (GER, Suzuki), 346 p.; 6. Steven Frossard (FRA, Kawasaki), 294 p.; 7. Joel Roelants (BEL, KTM), 284 p.; 8. Manuel Monni (ITA, Yamaha), 263 p.; 9. Nicolas Aubin (FRA, Yamaha), 256 p.; 10. Xavier Boog (FRA, Suzuki), 253 p.;

MX2 Manufacturers: 1. KTM, 609 points; 2. Kawasaki, 491 p.; 3. Yamaha, 469 p.; 4. Suzuki, 462 p.; 5. Honda, 350 p.; 6. TM, 14 p.;

Circuit length: 1750 mt
Type of ground: sand
Temperature: 24° C
Weather conditions: changeable
Crowd attendance during weekend: 18000

As the whole FIM Motocross World Championship, this Grand Prix and the FIM Women’s World Championship Race 2 will be broadcast live and delayed. Click here to see schedule and coverage online.


The Honda Grand Prix of Brazil, the final round of the FIM Motocross World Championship, will be held at Canelinha on the September 13 weekend.