News 9 Oct 2009

General: Doohan inducted into Sport Australia Hall of Fame


Australian motorcycling legend Michael Doohan was inducted into the Sport Australia Hall of Fame at the 25th anniversary induction and awards dinner held at the Crown Palladium Ballroom in Melbourne last night.

Membership of the Sport Australia Hall of Fame is regarded as the highest honour for Sportspeople in Australia, and Doohan joins an illustrious list of approximately 500 Australian Sportsmen and Sportswomen – including only six other motorcycle racers – who share the honour of being a Member.

Road Racing competitors Kel Carruthers and Wayne Gardner also share membership of the Hall, while Speedway riders Arthur ‘Bluey’ Wilkinson, Jack Young and Lionel Van Praag are also Members.

Doohan was one of eight people inducted as a Member last night, alongside Kevin Sheedy (AFL), Peter Montgomery (Water Polo), Liz Ellis (Netball), Luc Longley (Basketball), George Gregan (Rugby Union), Simon Fairweather (Archery) and Shane Warne (Cricket).

Doohan won the 500cc Motorcycle Grand Prix World Championship for five consecutive years from 1994-1998, and he was presented with a medal and certificate at last night’s ceremony by another great Australian motor racing competitor, Sir Jack Brabham.

In other awards presented on the night, Pole Vaulter Steve Hooker captured his second consecutive ‘Don’ Award for his performance in winning the World Championship earlier this year, while Kieren Perkins’ swim in the 1996 Atlanta Olympics was honoured as the memorable Hall of Fame ‘Moment’.

The night was a resounding success with close to 1000 people attending the black tie dinner, and concluded with Australia’s first modern Olympian, Edwin Flack, and Tennis great Ken Rosewall, both being honoured with the prestigious status of Hall of Fame ‘Legend’ – a title now shared by only 30 Australians.

For more information about the Sport Australia hall of fame, visit the SAHOF website at