News 16 Oct 2009

ASBK: Maxwell continues ASBK day one dominance with race win

Maxwell was the dominant rider on day one at Phillip Island's MotoGP round.

Maxwell was the dominant rider on day one at Phillip Island's MotoGP round.

Oleon Motologic Racing Honda’s Wayne Maxwell continued his domination of the opening day at the Australian Motorcycle Grand Prix at Phillip Island this afternoon, winning the opening six-lap race of the weekend by a comfortable 1.724 seconds.

Maxwell won the race ahead of Team Joe Rocket Suzuki’s Josh Waters after leading every lap of the race and setting a fastest lap of 1:32.711, while CJC Racing Honda privateer Craig Coxhell took a superb podium to continue his recent run of form.

“It was great to start from pole and then go on to win the race after leading from start to finish today. It came fairly easy, just got a good start and got into a good rhythm. It was only a short six-lap race today, so after the first few laps I was able to just cruise it home. I’m sure not all of the races are going to come easy this weekend, but we’ll take the easy ones when we can,” beamed 26-year-old Maxwell.

“I tried a few settings this morning and, to be honest, they didn’t quite work out, but in the race this afternoon I was able to go faster and it gave me great confidence for the remainder of the weekend. I’m happy with the way the race went today, we were a fair bit quicker than the other guys, did what we had to do and then tomorrow I’ll be trying a little bit harder to stretch that lead, which will hopefully set us up for some good points come the championship-scoring races on Sunday.”

Fourth was Maxwell’s teammate and current ASBK series leader Glenn Allerton, although his point lead wasn’t impacted since the first two races of this weekend won’t count toward the official championship chase.

A solid fifth was had by American Jake Holden in his ASBK debut for Evolution Sports Group, comfortably beating TJRS satellite rider Robbie Bugden and Kawasaki Racing Team veteran Kevin Curtain.

Rounding out the top 10 for the opening race of the weekend was AMA regular David Anthony, ahead of Yamaha Racing Team’s Jamie Stauffer and Jordan Burgess, who has stepped up from Superstock 1000 duties for the weekend.

The Supersport category was dominated on paper by Jamie Stauffer, but he was engaged in a titanic battle with YRT teammate Bryan Staring and ESG’s Shannon Johnson, Staring second in the first race before Johnson switched their positions in the second. will feature Live Updates for the remainder of the weekend direct from the Phillip Island Circuit.


The 2009 Australian Superbike Championship (ASBK) took centre stage at Phillip Island on Friday, with three classes making the most of the sunshine and the dry track.

Honda’s Wayne Maxwell took out the first six lap race ahead of Suzuki’s Josh Waters and Craig Coxhell of Honda and with two races to go over the next two days, reigning champ Glenn Allerton (Honda) will have to put in some strong rides to make up for his fourth place finish in race one.

The Supersport riders took to the track a massive four times on Friday, getting their free practice, qualifying, and first two races in before gates closed to the public.

Jamie Stauffer (Yamaha) took line honours in both races ahead of Bryan Staring (Yamaha) and Shannon Johnson (Honda) who secured a second and third place each.

Also making an appearance at Phillip Island was the Australian Historic Class, where Beau Beaton (Vincent), Rob Phillis (Suzuki) and Scott Webster (Moto Martin) took out first second and third respectively in both races.

All three classes will take to the track on Saturday from 4pm.

Click here for detailed results