News 25 Nov 2009

MotoGP: Three Australians to compete in 2010 Red Bull Rookies


The Red Bull MotoGP Rookies Cup looks to its fourth season in 2010 with 15 nations represented in the provisional entry list of 25 riders. The number of races for the coming season has been increased to 10 so the riders get more opportunity to develop their skills and prove themselves in front of the Grand Prix fans, teams and media.

There are more double race weekends so that the Rookies will perform both on the same day as the MotoGP race in Jerez, Assen, Sachsenring and Brno and on the preceding day of MotoGP qualifying in Jerez, Mugello, Assen, Sachsenring, Brno and Misano.

With an ever increasing fan base and TV coverage the series goes from strength to strength. The 2009 Cup winner Jakub Kornfeil received his FIM award from the Federation President Mr. Vito Ippolito at the final MotoGP round in Valencia where he was racing in the 125GP class and the 16 year old Czech is due to start next season as a full time Grand Prix rider.

“It is what I have been working for. I knew that winning the Rookies Cup would be my best chance of having a full time Grand Prix ride. So now I have a very good opportunity in Grand Prix as a Red Bull athlete and I know that I still have a lot of learning to do but I want to be racing in the top twenty and get some points if I can,” said Kornfeil.

The Cup winner is not the only one to be launched into a professional career from this year’s Rookie Cup; runner-up 17 year old Norwegian Sturla Fagerhaug is also hoping to compete in the 125 GP class. Third placed Florian Marino, the 16 year old Frenchman, steps across to the European 600 Superstock Series as a full time member of the prestigious Ten Kate Team.

“I have a great chance in a great team and I have to thank everyone in the Rookies Cup for helping me so much to progress as a rider, especially Gustl who taught me how to win,” said Marino recalling Rider Coach Gustl Auinger’s words to him in Donington after a string of top 6 finishes. Three weeks later he won in Brno.

With those men added to the list of the Rookies Alumni already in GP racing like 2007 Cup winner Johann Zarco, and the runners-up from 2007 and 2008; Lorenzo Savadori and Luis Salom, it is easy to see how well the Cup has proved itself the development ground for teenagers with great ambitions.

To see a compilation of the action that produced this year’s winners go to the video section of the website Those in the Alpe-Adria region have been watching the special 7 episode TV series “Young Guns Rising” on the Rookies Cup on Servus TV. The series will be made available in English to broadcasters around the world. A different and equally special Rookies series “Ride Fast. Live Young.” started on the Web TV site on November 20th with the first of 8 episodes. The web casts feature the three US riders and the other top Rookies. Both the series show a blend of track action and behind the scenes insight.

Next season the Cup will again be broadcast live on the Rookies Cup Website and can be viewed on and increasing number of TV stations around the world. With the men in front of him having graduated the way is clear for 16 year old Californian Jake Gagne, 4th in 2009, to complete is incredible transformation from motocrosser to winning international road racer in just 3 seasons by taking the 2010 Rookies Cup. He will be fiercely opposed by another 14 riders who remain in the Cup from this season and the 10 Rookies brought in new from this year’s Selection Process.

The Selection Process for the 2011 Rookies Cup will be opened in the Spring of 2010 and the Cup starts with race one in Jerez on May 1st. With the standard of riding in the Cup improving from year to year the Selection Committee will be looking for riders who are very successful in their national championships around the world to be invited to the Selection Event.

Provisional Entry List

3 Deni Cudic AUT
5 Philipp Oettl GER
7 Alejandro Pardo ITA
16 Joshua Hook AUS
17 Antonio Chiari BRA
18 James Flitcroft GBR
20 Mathew Scholtz RSA
22 Daniel Ruiz ESP
23 Niccolo Antonelli ITA
24 Harry Stafford GBR
27 Alessio Cappella ITA/NGR
32 Jacob Gagne USA
34 Xavier Pinsach ESP
41 Brad Binder RSA
46 Daijiro Hiura JPN
47 Tomas Vavrous CZE
52 Danny Kent GBR
57 Brody Nowlan AUS
61 Arthur Sissis AUS
66 Florian Alt GER
72 Alexander Kristiansson SWE
74 Kevin Calia ITA
77 Taylor Mackenzie GBR
95 Xavier Figueras ESP
98 Alan Techer FRA

Provisional Calendar

Pre Season Test April 12th, 13th & 15th Valencia – Spain
Races 1 & 2 May 1st & 2nd Jerez – Spain
Race 3 June 5th Mugello – Italy
Races 4 & 5 June 25th & 26th Assen – Netherlands
Races 6 & 7 July 17th & 18th Sachsenring – Germany
Races 8 & 9 August 14th & 15th Brno – Czech Republic
Race 10 September 4th Misano – Republic of San Marino