News 18 Dec 2009

AORC: New-look 2010 national off-road series set to shine

Toby Price will return to the AORC in 2010 with Motorex KTM.

Toby Price will return to the AORC in 2010 with Motorex KTM.

The organisation 2010 Australian Off-Road Championship (AORC) is nearing its final stages, with many changes confirmed for the country’s premier enduro motorcycle series for the new year, now once again under the promotional banner of Motorcycling Australia.

Changes include a return to 12-rounds, varying formats including a two-day enduro, increased promotion, events to be held in more states (New South Wales, Queensland, Victoria and South Australia) and the Junior classes to be added as official national titles.

MA CEO David White said MA had taken the organisational lead of the championship.

“Many people within MA and the MA Enduro Commission have been working tirelessly to ensure the continued growth of this vital Australian championship into 2010,” White said. “We are now in the process of appointing a well-qualified person to oversee the final stages of organisation and the running of each of the twelve rounds next year. This person will work closely with each motorcycle club to ensure all of the six weekends are a success for riders, spectators and sponsors.

“We are excited about being able to involve the clubs more in the running of the rounds next year, as they have the best local knowledge and resources and will put a lot of effort and pride into all aspects of the event including track layout and preparation. We are also putting a lot of effort into ensuring the timing systems are effective and will be offering live timing at all of the sprint and cross-country rounds. A significant amount of track bunting has also been donated by Ballard’s Off-Road, so every special test will be double bunted.

“We are expecting there to be three cross-country rounds (weather permitting), a two-day enduro, a two-day cross-country and five sprint rounds. Other exciting changes include the addition of the junior classes as recognised Australian titles, along with Women’s, Veteran’s , Masters, and Championship E1, 2 and 3. Clubman and Expert riders will still get a chance to race the events as their classes will be included in the supplementary regulations.

“We have also brought Shooting Star Media back on board, who have done a fantastic job promoting the championship through public relations and a professional website since the beginning of 2008. Leigh Hutton and Rosie Lalonde from Shooting Star will again be on the ground at each round making sure everyone in the general community, industry and mainstream media are kept abreast of the racing action.”

Shooting Star Media’s Leigh Hutton said a lot of thought had gone into new avenues for promoting the championship next year.

“We are going to be going further to market the championship with the adoption of American Grand National Cross-Country-style individual round branding,” Hutton said. “This will mean each of the weekend’s will have their own unique name and logo and we will use these to generate interest in the event with the help of official event T-Shirts, posters etc which will also offer our sponsors increased exposure.”

Mrs Hutton is also the 2010 Sponsorship Liaison and said several leading companies had already come on board to support the championship.

“Even though times are tough economically there are still companies out there who see the AORC as a valuable investment and are willing to allocate part of their dwindled budgets to be involved,” she said. We will be working hard to make sure their loyalty is rewarded with exceptional exposure for their investment in 2010. The 2010 AORC sponsor line-up will be announced shortly. However, there is still time to become one of the valued AORC sponsors. Please contact me [email protected] for more info.”

Sparks are expected to fly at the opening rounds of the 2010 AORC on March 13th and 14th at Port Macquarie (NSW) with reigning AORC champ Toby Price (now a member of Motorex KTM) set to go head to head with the nation’s best, including five-time World champ, Stefan Merriman (Ballard’s Wellard Yamaha).

Rounds three and four of the AORC will be held May 1st and 2nd at Conondale (QLD), rounds five and six on May 29th and 30th at Moruya (NSW South Coast), rounds seven and eight July 10th and 11th at Wedderburn (VIC), rounds nine and 10 August 7th and 8th in SA (venue TBA) and the final rounds will be held September 4th and 5th in NSW (venue TBA).

Application forms are now available for Senior competitors wishing to secure their riding number for the 2010 AORC. Riding numbers one to 20 in each class of the AORC will be allocated to the competitors who finished in that order in the 2009 Championship. If you wish to ride with a number other than the one allocated to you, an application must be made for a different number. To renew your 2009 number, you must re-apply by 31 January 2010 to secure it and from 1 February 2010, all remaining numbers will be available for any riders to use – with the exception of numbers 1-20. To ensure you are allocated your preferred riding number for the 2010 racing season, complete the application form located at and send to:

Ross Martin
Motorcycling Australia
PO Box 134
South Melbourne VIC 3205
Fax: 03 9684 0555

Completed forms must be received by 31 January 2010.

Note that MA does not register numbers for Junior riders.

AORC 2010 Dates and Venues

Rnds 1 & 2: 13-14 March, Port Macquarie, NSW (cross-country Saturday, sprint Sunday)
Rnds 3 & 4: 1-2 May, Conondale, QLD (sprint both days)
Rnds 5 & 6: 29-30 May, Moruya, NSW South Coast (Two-day enduro)
Rnds 7 & 8: 10-11 July, Wedderburn (near Bendigo) VIC (cross-country Saturday, sprint Sunday)
Rnds 9 & 10: 7-8 August, SA (TBA)
Rnds 11 & 12: 4-5 September, NSW (TBA)