News 18 Jul 2010

AMA MX: Dungey wraps up sixth straight at Spring Creek

The second half of the 2010 Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross Championship began on Saturday from one of the series’ most renowned facilities for the 28th running of the Rockstar Energy Spring Creek National at Spring Creek Motocross Park.

Thousands of enthusiastic great plains motocross fans packed the hillsides as local hero Ryan Dungey put his Rockstar Makita Suzuki atop the 450 Class podium for the sixth straight race.

Much like the last five rounds, Dungey appeared to be rather comfortable running out front despite being a rookie in the elite division. He capitalised on a great start in Moto 1 to take the lead on the eighth lap from Honda Red Bull Racing’s Kevin Windham and cruise to the win.

In Moto 2, he worked from just outside the top five off the holeshot to overtake Honda Red Bull Racing’s Andrew Short on the third lap to go on and win by over 39 seconds and sweep the day’s motos.

“To put the bike in a good spot off the start is really important,” said Dungey, who won at Spring Creek for the third consecutive season dating back to his time in the 250 Class. “I got a great start in the first moto and a not so great start in the second moto, so I had to put in some consistent laps.

“I grew up riding at Spring Creek and I definitely rode a lot here, but I haven’t really rode it since I turned pro and only came to race. It’s changed every year with the layout so I kind of look at it just like any other race. I got to know a lot of great people here so to come back and see them was great.”

Short posted a pair of solid moto results to finish second overall (3-3) while Merge Racing Honda’s Kyle Regal tied a career-best finish in third (8-2).

Australia’s defending class champion Chad Reed failed to finish the first moto and was scratched from Moto 2 with an apparent neck injury.

Dungey now holds an 89-point advantage heading into next weekend’s eighth round from Washougal, Washington. He boasts the best average finish in the class at 2.2 and has led the most laps with 100.

After breaking through for his first career Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross Championship victory at the previous round, GEICO Powersports Honda’s Trey Canard kept the momentum going with another strong effort. The third-year rider became just the second multiple-time winner in the 250 Class for 2010 while also becoming the second rider to win more than one moto this season with his 2-1 moto scores.

“My comfort level and belief in myself went up,” said Canard, who raced to the Moto 2 win under heavy rain. “I came in more self relieved. When you come in like that you’re less nervous and it all comes easier. The effort I put in today was good for me. I’m just excited about what’s going on and I hope to keep the momentum going.”

250 Class rookie and Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki rider Dean Wilson, of Scotland, grabbed the runner-up spot (6-2) with his teammate Tyla Rattray, of South Africa, rounding out the podium in third (4-4).
Their teammate and current points leader Christophe Pourcel, of France, finished off the podium for the first time in 2010 in fifth (1-10).

Pourcel’s advantage over Wilson in the championship standings sits at 32 points. The Frenchman also leads the class in laps led with 99 and an average finish of 2.9.

The Women’s Motocross Championship hosted its fifth of eight rounds at Spring Creek.

Just one round after losing her hold on a perfect season at the previous race, DNA Shred Stix Star Racing Yamaha’s Jessica Patterson returned to the top step of the podium with 1-2 moto results. Honda Red Bull Racing’s Ashley Fiolek finished second (3-1) while Troy Lee Designs Lucas Oil Honda’s Tarah Gieger, of Puerto Rico, finished third (2-4).

Next weekend, the 2010 Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross Championship returns to action for round eight and the Washougal Retro National from Washougal Motocross Park in Washougal, Washington.

450 Class (Moto Finish)
1. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., Suzuki (1-1)
2. Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, Honda (3-3)
3. Kyle Regal, Kemp, Texas, Honda (8-2)
4. Kevin Windham, Centreville, Miss., Honda (5-4)
5. Ben Townley, New Zealand, Honda (4-5)
6. Josh Grant, Riverside, Calif., Yamaha (2-10)
7. Ryan Sipes, Flaherty, Texas, Yamaha (9-7)
8. Kyle Chisholm, Valrico, Fla., Yamaha (7-9)
9. Brett Metcalfe, Australia, Honda (16-6)
10. Nick Wey, Dewitt, Mich., Kawasaki (11-11)

450 Class Championship Standings
1. Ryan Dungey, Belle Plaine, Minn., Suzuki, 318
2. Andrew Short, Smithville, Texas, Honda, 229
3. Ben Townley, New Zealand, Honda, 223
4. Brett Metcalfe, Australia, Honda, 221
5. Josh Grant, Riverside, Calif., Yamaha, 215
6. Chad Reed, Australia, Kawasaki, 204
7. Mike Alessi, Victorville, Calif., KTM, 196
8. Kyle Regal, Kemp, Texas, Honda, 157
9. Ryan Sipes, Flaherty, Texas, Yamaha, 140
10. Kyle Chisholm, Valrico, Fla., Yamaha, 134

250 Class (Moto Finish)
1. Trey Canard, Shawnee, Okla., Honda (2-1)
2. Dean Wilson, Scotland, Kawasaki (6-2)
3. Tyla Rattray, South Africa, Kawasaki (4-4)
4. Jake Weimer, Rupert, Idaho, Kawasaki (3-5)
5. Christophe Pourcel, France, Kawasaki (1-10)
6. Blake Wharton, Pilot Point, Texas, Honda (5-7)
7. Broc Tickle, Holly, Mich., Yamaha (7-6)
8. Justin Barcia, Ochlocknee, Ga., Honda (16-3)
9. Tommy Searle, England, KTM (11-9)
10. Alex Martin, Millville, Minn., Honda (8-15)

250 Class Championship Standings
1. Christophe Pourcel, France, Kawasaki, 296
2. Dean Wilson, Scotland, Kawasaki, 264
3. Trey Canard, Shawnee, Okla., Honda, 252
4. Tyla Rattray, South Africa, Kawasaki, 248
5. Broc Tickle, Holly, Mich., Yamaha, 209
6. Justin Barcia, Ochlocknee, Ga., Honda, 201
7. Blake Wharton, Pilot Point, Texas, Honda, 175
8. Eli Tomac, Cortez, Colo., Honda, 174
9. Jake Weimer, Rupert, Idaho, Kawasaki, 165
10. Martin Davalos, Ecuador, Yamaha, 147

WMX Class (Moto Finish)
1. Jessica Patterson, Tallahassee, Fla., Yamaha (1-2)
2. Ashley Fiolek, St. Augustine, Fla., Honda (3-1)
3. Tarah Gieger, Winter Gardens, Fla., Honda (2-4)
4. Vicki Golden, El Cajon, Calif., Yamaha (4-3)
5. Sarah Whitmore, Cheboygan, Mich., KTM (9-5)
6. Mariana Balbi, Brazil, Yamaha (8-6)
7. Sara Price, Canyon Lake, Calif., Kawasaki (7-7)
8. Jacqueline Strong, Sedona, Ariz., Yamaha (6-8)
9. Penni Cyrus, Queen Creek, Ariz., Kawasaki (10-10)
10. Erica Cook, Natalia, Texas, Yamaha (11-12)