News 5 Sep 2010

AORC: KTM teammates clinch off-road titles in Queensland

Motorex KTM’s Toby Price, Jarrod Bewley and Ben Grabham completed a clean-sweep of the 2010 Yamaha Australian Off-Road Championship (AORC) on Saturday.

Motorex KTM's Toby Price clinched his second straight Outright AORC title on Saturday.

Motorex KTM's Toby Price clinched his second straight Outright AORC title on Saturday.

Motorex KTM’s Toby Price wrapped up the Yamaha E2 Class and Outright victories of the 2010 Yamaha Australian Off-Road Championship (AORC) on Saturday with one round to go.

Price’s teammates, Jarrod Bewley and Ben Grabham, also accumulated enough points to claim the number one plates in their respective classes after round 11 of the 12-round series, held near Warwick in Queensland.

“Conditions out there were great today, we had rain last night so there wasn’t much dust,” Price said. “It’s just starting to rain again, though, and it’s forecast for tonight and tomorrow, so hopefully it doesn’t rain too much as it could get pretty technical out there.

“To win is an awesome feeling and to back it up from last year is even better. It’s been an awesome year for me this year… I feel good on the bike and have had no injuries this year and that is a big help.

“I just kept motoing away and trying to win motos and it all paid off in the end. Hopefully I can go over to France at the end of the month and do well over there.”

Bewley, who finished Saturday’s round in second Outright, is the 2010 GP Industries Championship E1 winner.

Grabham, who came fourth Outright , is the 2010 Pirelli Championship E3 Class winner.

Ballard’s Wellard Yamaha’s Stefan Merriman came third Outright on Saturday and currently sits second in E2 in the championship points.

Victorian Daniel Milner (Christensen’s Off-Road) was fifth Outright, followed by Queenslander AJ Roberts (Honda) in sixth, Husqvarna rider Luka Bussa seventh (and second in E1), Yamaha rider and Queenslander Kirk Hutton eighth (and second in E3), YZ250F pilot Tom McCormack ninth and Dale Blackwell 10th.

In the Expert ranks today, Ivan Long was the victor of Expert E1, while Amiel Cavalier took the top prize in Endura Expert E2/3.

Jessica Gardiner (Ballard’s Wellard Yamaha) was the fastest Motul Championship Woman. Team manager, Geoff Ballard, took the win in Championship Master’s.

Lithgow’s Garry Dukes came out on top in Championship Veteran’s.

Matt Lavis won Clubman Outright and E2/3, while Thomas Jenner was the quickest in Clubman E1.

Queenslander Casey Winston took the win in Championship Junior Class 5.

Tomorrow’s round 12 will be ran in ‘sprint’ format, which sees competitors start one-at-a-time and complete one lap at a time, doing several heats in the day.

Click here for detailed results