News 5 Sep 2010

WSBK: Biaggi takes German Superpole, Parkes third in WSS

Points leader Max Biaggi (Aprilia Alitalia) rode to a new track record of 1:54.595 in the final run to take only his second career Superpole win and lead Sunday’s race grid for the German round at the Nurburgring.

“After my crash I had a pain in my back and my left arm but nothing broken, just a big crash,” Biaggi said. “We did a lot of work in set-up on the bike and our race pace is not so bad.

“For the race tyres, we are not so bad and after a few laps there should be even better grip. I am happy for me and my team, and all my sponsors.”

Carlos Checa (Althea Racing) was the early pace setter and remained second, but original third place man James Toseland (Yamaha Sterilgarda) was demoted to eighth, after leaving pit lane too early in Superpole 3.

All the riders behind him, down to eighth place, were thus promoted one spot on the grid.

Sylvain Guintoli (Suzuki Alstare) is now in third on the revised grid, with Jonathan Rea (Hannspree Ten Kate Honda) moving up to fourth. Leon Haslam (Suzuki Alstare) is one step closer to Biaggi in fifth, and Noriyuki Haga (Ducati Xerox) is now sixth, not seventh.

Tom Sykes had a great ride throughout Superpole, and slotted his Kawasaki Racing Team four-cylinder into seventh place, one up on the luckless Toseland.

Troy Corser (BMW Motorrad), who has been one of the main protagonists throughout the weekend, had a luckless Superpole, this time high-siding, and landing hard – his third crash in around an hour of track action. He was out of Superpole from that point, finally qualifying 14th.

In World Supersport, Eugene Laverty (Parkalgar Honda) headed the qualifying list after setting a 1:58.415 lap, heading off his great championship rival Kenan Sofuoglu (Hannspree Ten Kate Honda) in the process.

Broc Parkes (Kawasaki was third in his return to the WSS class, one place up on his teammate Katsuaki Fujiwara. Gino Rea (Intermoto Czech Honda) fired himself into fifth place, ahead of leading Triumph rider, David Salom.

Click here for detailed results