News 28 Sep 2010

Oz MX: Finals get underway at Lakes Junior MX Nationals

The first round of finals took place on Tuesday at the 2010 Honda Australian Junior Motocross Championship at the Lake Macquarie Motor Bike Club in New South Wales.

The classes taking to the track on Tuesday did not need to qualify, and began what will be five massive days of racing.

Controversy surrounded the 85cc 14 to Under 16 years class with race winner and Victorian rider, Tristan Cachia relegated to 11th place, sending New South Wales’ Jack Simpson to the top of the points table.

Queenslander Wilson Todd took out the first final in the 65cc 11 to Under 13 years class, with local rider Caleb Clifton winning the 7 to Under 9 years class.

New South Welshmen Aaron Tanti, Luke Clout and Jordan Hill now lead the 150cc classes in their respective age groups.

Victorian rider Dylan Long won the first final for the 100-150cc two stroke 15 years class, after battling it out with Clout.

Also riding on Tuesday were the first finals for the two Female classes with New South Welshwoman Meghan Rutledge and New Zealand’s Courtney Duncan dominating their respective classes.

Racing will continue throughout the week, with the Official Opening Ceremony taking place from 8:30am on Wednesday.

For more information regarding the event, checkout or

The Lake Macquarie Motor Bike Club is located just off Cessnock Road, Awaba (near Toronto), and entry for spectators is completely free.