News 1 Oct 2010

Oz MX: Battles heating up at Lakes junior MX Nationals

As we reach the pointy end of the 2010 Honda Australian Junior Motocross Championship, riders battled it out on the Lake Macquarie Motor Bike Club circuit for points with only a handful of races remaining.

American rider Joey Savatgy was a dominant force, winning both his classes on Thursday, while Kiwi rider Dion Picard took out the 200-250 13 to Under 15 years class.

In the 150cc classes, New South Welshmen Luke Clout and Jordan Hill won their respective classes while Victorian Wayde Carter kept his hopes alive winning his age group class.

Hayden Mellross (NSW) scored top points in the 100-150cc 13 to Under 15 years class, while another American rider Dakota Alix, took top billing in the 85cc 14 to Under 16 years class.

Meghan Rutledge (NSW) continued her domination of the older females class, while New Zealand’s pocket-rocket Courtney Duncan obliterated her competition in the female class and finished an outstanding eighth in the 85cc 12 to Under 14 years class against the guys despite two crashes.

Queenslander Joel Dinsdale took out the class ahead of Duncan, while Mitchell Evans – who also hails from Queensland, took the flag in the 85cc classes.

On the 65cc machines, New South Welshmen David Ustariz and Rhys Budd scored maximum points in their respective classes while Hunter Lawrence kept Queensland in the points chase winning his age class.

In the 50cc Division 2 7 to Under 9 years class it was Bailey Malkiewicz who continued his strong from taking out another race win.

Racing will continue for all classes on Friday, with some wrapping up their Aussie Titles, while some classes will continue for their fifth and last final of the Championship on Saturday.

The Lake Macquarie Motor Bike Club is located just off Cessnock Road, Awaba – near Toronto, and entry for spectators is completely free.