News 3 Oct 2010

FMX: Torres wins Rome X-Fighters, Adams defends title

Day Torres won the Rome X-Fighters as Adams wrapped up the 2010 title.

Torres won the Rome X-Fighters as Adams wrapped up the 2010 title.

At the grand finale of the Red Bull X-Fighters World Tour 2010 in Rome’s Stadio Flaminio, it was Spanish rider Dany Torres who sailed to victory in front of a capacity 20,000 crowd, defeating Adam Jones (USA) in a thrilling final.

In the overall standings Nate Adams (USA) managed to secure back-to-back titles in the world’s most respected freestyle motocross tour with a strong third place finish in the Eternal City.

In a city which has witnessed more than its fair share of legendary gladiatorial battles, the duel for the overall World Tour title could barely have been closer going into the final stop of the season.

At the end it was America’s Nate Adams who emerged victorious by the smallest of margins – just 5 points – from the head-to-head showdown with Andrè Villa (NOR).

The victory means that Adams successfully defend his title, while Villa, who finished on the podium at the first four of the six stops in 2010, was left to rue chances missed in the season.

The Red Bull X-Fighters World Tour 2010 took the 12 best freestyle motocross gladiators on the planet to spectacular locations across three continents, where they were fired on live by a total of 169,000 fans.

With some of the kickers catapulting the athletes up to 15 metres high and 30 metres through the air, the riders competing in the huge bullfighting arena in Mexico City (MEX), in front of the Great Sphinx of Giza (EGY), on Moscow’s (RUS) Red Square, in Madrid’s (ESP) bullfighting ring, in front of the Battersea Power Station in London (GBR) and at the season finale in Rome’s Stadio Flaminio (ITA) completed an total of 770 jumps – including 524 flips – and flew almost 17,000 metres in the process.

Red Bull X-Fighters World Tour 2010 Standings:
1. Nate Adams (USA/370 points)
2. Andrè Villa (NOR/365 points)
3. Dany Torres (ESP/310 points)
4. Levi Sherwood (NZL/290 points)
5. Adam Jones (USA/290 points)
6. Robbie Maddison (AUS)
7. Mat Rebeaud (SUI)
8. Eigo Sato (JPN)