News 7 Nov 2010

Off-Road: ISDE reduced to five days as France clinches win

The organising committee of the 85th FIM International Six Days Enduro has decided to cancel the final day of the competition, a decision that has been fully supported by the FIM Jury.

No one involved in the event has been effected in anyway by the actions that occurred in the region overnight. These actions were in no way connected to the event and took place some considerable distance from the host city of Morelia.

The decision has been taken to ensure the safety and security of all persons involved with the event and of the spectators due to watch the final motocross test.

“Firstly I would like to congratulate the organising committee on delivering an excellent sporting event, which has reflected a good image of the discipline of enduro,” said FIM sports director Ignacio Verneda. “After five days of such a good competition, I am happy with the decision that has been taken by the organising committee and the FIM Jury.

“This is 100 pecent the correct decision, as in all cases the security and safety of everyone involved with the event is the most important consideration. Although the risk was only very minimal, we prefer not to take any risk at all. In all cases the decision has been well accepted by the riders, the teams and all those associated with the event.”

With the sixth day of the ISDE having been cancelled, the results after day five have now been used to determine the official and final classifications.

In the World Trophy contest the French Team of Johnny Aubert (KTM) E2; Nicolas Deparrois (Kawasaki) E2; Seb Guillaume (Husqvarna) E3; Antoine Meo (Husqvarna) E1; Rodrig Thain (TM) E2; and Christophe Nambotin (Gas Gas) E3 were triumphant.

The Italian Team consisting of Alex Salvini (Husqvarna) E1; Alessandro Belometti (KTM) E3; Thomas Oldrati (KTM) E2; Manuel Monni (Yamaha) E2; Simone Albergoni (KTM) E3; and Alessandro Botturi (Husaberg) E3 finished as runners-up.

Whilst Eero Remes (KTM) E1; Jari Mattila (Honda) E1; Juha Salminen (Husqvarna) E2; Marko Tarkkala (Husqvarna) E2; Oskari Kantonen (KTM) E2; and Valtteri Salonen (Husaberg) E3 took third place for Finland.

The Junior Trophy was won by Spain, their four man team including Victor Guerrero (Yamaha) E1; Mario Roman (KTM) E1; Lorenzo Santolino (KTM) E2; and Oriol Mena (Husaberg) E3.

Sweden were the runners-up in this class, the Scandinavian squad being represented by Henrik Lindholm (KTM) E2; Johan Carlsson (Beta) E2; Karl Svensson (Husaberg) E3; and Calle Sjoo (Husaberg) E3.

Completing the podium, Team USA were third, thanks to the efforts of Ian Blythe (KTM) E1; Cory Buttrick (KTM) E3; Nick Fahringer (Husaberg) E2; and Robert Taylor (Yamaha) E2.

Matching their male compatriots, the French ladies won the Women’s Cup courtesy of Blandine Dufrene (Gas Gas); Audrey Rossat (Gas Gas); and Ludivine Puy (Gas Gas).

Runners-up in this category were the USA, their team included Kerrie Swartz (KTM); Nicole Bradford (KTM); and Amanda Mastin (Yamaha).

Sweden secured third place due to the performances of Camilla Mitkiewicz (KTM); Vanja Kollman (KTM); and Jessika Jonsson (KTM).

World Trophy

1. France 16.32:01.55
2. Italy 16.42:15.57
3. Finland16.46:38.30
4. USA 16.58:11.40
5. Poland 17.31:19.96

Junior Trophy
1. Spain 10.06:25.11
2. Sweden 10.12:19.95
3. USA 10.14:47.89
4. France 10.16:40.13
5. Finland 10.18:42.51

Women’s Cup
1. France 7.44:56.08
2. USA 8.55:11.58
3. Sweden 9.00:22.88
4. Germany 16.27:47.28
5. Canada 16.42:57.73