News 21 Jun 2011

125cc GP class of 2011 chases Terol to the Netherlands for Dutch TT

Nico Terol has been the dominant force in the 125s so far this season.

Nico Terol has been the dominant force in the 125s so far this season.

The chasing pack aim to close in on 125cc Grand Prix World Championship leader Nico Terol at the Iveco TT Assen, with Jonas Folger leading the group and buoyed by his first world championship win in the previous round.

Having become the youngest ever German rider to win a Grand Prix at Silverstone, Folger’s (Red Bull Ajo Motorsport) title challenge received a timely boost with a valuable victory in the wet British GP and the 17-year-old German now heads to Assen aiming to put more pressure on Championship leader Nico Terol.

Bankia Aspar rider Terol remains a healthy 35 points clear at the top of the standings but his eighth place in the British rain did end an impressive record-equalling run of 14 consecutive podium finishes in the 125cc category.

That will matter little to the Spaniard however as he is well aware of the importance of collecting more points as he protects his strengthening title challenge.

With Folger in second his fellow rider in the Ajo set-up Johann Zarco is placed third in the standings and the 20 year-old will be more eager than ever to emulate his colleague and secure a first GP win.

Zarco’s best finish at Assen in his two previous visits has been 12th (last year), but the Avant-AirAsia-Ajo rider is looking ever more likely to take his maiden victory having been denied in Catalunya, and comes into this round off the back of his best-ever finish of second in Britain.

Sandro Cortese (Intact Racing Team Germany) sits just two points behind in the standings and the German will aim for a return to the podium positions, whilst Efrén Vázquez (Avant-AirAsia-Ajo) and Maverick Viñales (Blusens by Paris Hilton Racing) are closely matched as well.

Héctor Faubel (Bankia Aspar) scored his first podium of the season in the previous round and will expect to kick on from there, whilst Sergio Gadea (Blusens by Paris Hilton Racing) will want to bounce back from a disappointing DNF last time out.

Aiming for a strong follow up to the last race will be Spanish youngsters Luis Salom (RW Racing GP) and Adrián Martín (Bankia Aspar) who placed fourth and sixth respectively at Silverstone.

British trio Danny Kent (Red Bull Ajo Motorsport), Danny Webb (Mahindra Racing) and Taylor Mackenzie (Phonica Racing) all finished in the points and will expect to do so once again.

Four Dutch wild card riders will add to the depth of talent on display with Bryan Schouten (Dutch Racing Team), Ernst Dubbink (RV Racing Team), Jerry van de Bunt (Jerrys Racing Team) and Thomas van Leeuwen (Racing Team Van Leeuwen) all participating.

German wild card Luca Gruenwald (Freudenberg Racing Team) will also ride, whilst Norwegian Sturla Fagerhaug continues in place of the injured Sarath Kumar on the WTR-Ten10 Racing Team.