News 4 Sep 2011

Zarco secures 125cc Grand Prix pole position in San Marino

Johan Zarco took pole position in the 125cc Grand Prix race at Misano.

Johan Zarco took pole position in the 125cc Grand Prix race at Misano.

Avant-AirAsia-Ajo rider Johann Zarco put on a superb qualifying display to seal his second pole position of the season ahead of the Misano 125cc Grand Prix race.

The Frenchman’s hot lap of 1:43.247 left him 0.193s clear at the top of the leader board, ahead of Bankia Aspar team-mates Héctor Faubel and Nicolas Terol.

Faubel followed Zarco onto the front row with a best effort of 1:43.440, while Terol was third on the timesheet at 0.164s off his team-mate and 0.357s off the number one spot with a time of 1:43.640.

Sandro Cortese (Intact Racing Team Germany), whose best race result at Misano is fifth, will start from the head of the second row after posting a time of 1:43.605, followed by Danny Kent (Red Bull Ajo Motorsport), the last rider under a second off the pole position time.

Wildcard rider Miroslav Popov (Ellegi Racing) had a superb qualifying result, posting a time of 1:44.255 to place him on the second row of the grid.

Jonas Folger (Red Bull Ajo Motorsport), Luis Salom (RW Racing GP) and Miguel Oliveira (Team Andalucía Banca Cívica) make up the third row, while Maverick Viñales (Blusens by Paris Hilton Racing Team) heads row four of the grid.

Efrén Vázquez (Avant-AirAsia-Ajo), who finished 3rd in the 125cc race last year, takes position 11 next to Viñales on the fourth row, followed by Alberto Moncayo (Team Andalucía Banca Cívica), who is riding through a shoulder injury sustained at the Indianapolis GP last weekend.

Click here for detailed results