News 11 Nov 2011

KTM's Reekie clinches first road race title in FX Pro-Thunder series

Angus Reekie rode KTM's new 1190 RC8R to the FX Pro-Thunder title. Image: Keith Muir.

Angus Reekie rode KTM's new 1190 RC8R to the FX Pro-Thunder title. Image: Keith Muir.

KTM Racing’s Angus Reekie wrapped up his maiden national road racing championship last weekend at Eastern Creek Raceway in New South Wales, capturing the Pro Thunder title in the Australian FX-Superbike Championship.

The 24-year-old from Bowral added the Pro-Thunder title to multiple Supermoto championships he has won for KTM, cementing himself as a road racer aboard the KTM 1190 RC8R.

Last Sunday saw Reekie finish with 2-1-1 results for the weekend, which was enough to wrap up the title by 18 points following the six-round series that’s largely based on the east coast of Australia.

“It’s a great way to finish off the season and it has been a great learning curve in the Pro-Thunder class,” Reekie said. “It’s time to step up for next year and race in the Superbike class, which will be a good way for me to continue improving.

“The RC8R has been faultless all year long and I just can’t say enough about it as a standard bike. The twin-cylinder suits my style and has taught me a lot about being smooth for road racing. It makes everything easy in a sense.

“I really need to thank KTM Australia, Motorex, Bendix and my dad for all of their help and support throughout the 2011 season. Their help has been great all year long and I really appreciate it.”

Reekie now has his sights set on a move to the FX1000 series for 2012, marking KTM’s first serious campaign in the premier class of FX-Superbike competition.

First up though is the second round of the Australian Supermoto Championship next weekend at Phillip Island in Victoria, which Reekie currently leads and is in the box seat to claim a record seventh national title.

Visit on the web for further information on KTM Australia, as well as KTM’s full model line-up of off-road and road motorcycles available for 2011.