News 14 Nov 2011

Waters wins Sunday, Stauffer takes Symmons Plains ASBK overall

Glenn Allerton wins first ever Australian Superbike Championship for BMW in Tasmania.

Team Suzuuki's Josh Waters bounced back to win race two on Sunday in Tasmania. Image: Andrew Gosling/TBG Sport.

Team Suzuuki's Josh Waters bounced back to win race two on Sunday in Tasmania. Image: Andrew Gosling/TBG Sport.

Josh Waters ran away with yeterday’s second race of the QBE Australian Superbike Championships at Tasmania’s Symmons Plains on a day where Glenn Allerton battled injury to secure his second premier class title.

The Suzuki-mounted Waters annihilated his own lap record, set in February, to win by a comfortable margin after a race-long battle between the factory Honda and Suzuki teams.

Crucially, it was the fifth place finish for Procon Maxima BMW’s Glenn Allerton which saw him lock away an unbeatable points lead and secure a triumphant second Superbike title, only the fifth rider in the ASBK’s history to do so.

Yesterday’s clash with Robbie Bugden resulted in a severely-swollen arm for Allerton, who dismissed the discomfort and finished the job he had come to do.

For Waters, the result was redemption after he retired to the pits yesterday while enjoying a similar lead in the opening race.

“Yesterday was just one of those things, the engine problem was disappointing but we bounced back today,” said Waters.

“I got a good start but made a mistake at the hairpin on the first lap. It probably made for a great race for the crowd to see us all battling it out at the start.

“I worked my way through and made a bit of a break, I was lucky to be fast enough to keep the other guys just behind me.

“Breaking the lap record again shows just how fast the bike is here and I’m looking forward to getting to Phillip Island and finishing the year off really well.”

Race one winner Jamie Stauffer finished second on the Team Honda machine, while Troy Herfoss added another race podium to his name in third.

Stauffer locked down another round win with the result today, and was only two points shy of forcing Glenn Allerton to wait another week to race for the title.

“It was a pretty hard race again from seventh on the grid, I attacked early on and was able to move forward but there was no catching Josh in today’s race,” said Stauffer.

“It’s good to get the round win and keep focused on the goal of second in the championship.

“Congratulations to Glenn on a great win, he was always going to be tough to beat with such a big lead.”

As it did on Saturday, the 2.4km circuit’s hairpin proved a challenge to riders who pushed their bikes to the limit under brakes.

A heart-stopping moment for Allerton typified the nature of the corner, missed by a narrow margin after a late-braking lunge by Waters.

The large Tasmanian crowd was treated to a spectacular display of racing, with the Superbikes proving an exceptionally-popular support class to the V8 Supercars.

Brodie Waters won both Prostock Challenge races this weekend, showing versatility in switching between his regular ride in the 600cc Supersport class to step up to Suzuki’s 1000cc machine.

It wasn’t, however, enough to prevent Linden Magee from claiming top honours in the championship, with the Coastline Motorrad BMW winning by a 20-point margin at the conclusion of the three-round showdown at the 2+4 events.

The final round of the QBE Australian Superbike Championships, a multi-discipline ‘festival’ of two-wheel racing, will be held at the Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit from November 18-20.

2011 QBE Australian Superbike Championship
Symmons Plains, TAS

Race Two Results:
1. Joshua WATERS (VIC) / Team Suzuki
2. Jamie STAUFFER (NSW) / Team Honda Racing
3. Troy HERFOSS (NSW) / Team Suzuki
4. Wayne MAXWELL (NSW) / Team Honda Racing
5. Glenn ALLERTON (NSW) / Procon Maxima BMW
6. Robert BUGDEN (QLD) / Team Mack Trucks Suzuki
7. Craig COXHELL (VIC) / GAS Honda / Demolition Plus
8. Brodie WATERS (VIC) / Team Suzuki
9. Ben HENRY (QLD) / CUBE Racing / Australian Outdoor Living / Weld West
10. Chris TROUNSON (VIC) / Procon Maxima BMW

Round Seven Overall Results:
1. Jamie STAUFFER (NSW), 45
2. Joshua WATERS (VIC), 38
3. Troy HERFOSS (VIC), 38
4. Wayne MAXWELL (VIC), 33
5. Craig COXHELL (VIC), 32
6. Robert BUGDEN (QLD), 31
7. Glenn ALLERTON (VIC), 30
8. Ben HENRY (QLD), 30
9. Chris TROUNSON (VIC), 24

Championship Standings (after 7 of 8 rounds):
1. Glenn ALLERTON (VIC), 293
2. Jamie STAUFFER (NSW), 241
3. Troy HERFOSS (VIC), 223
4. Craig COXHELL (VIC), 213
5. Wayne MAXWELL (VIC), 210
6. Joshua WATERS (VIC), 97
7. Ben ATTARD (QLD), 196
8. Robert BUGDEN (QLD), 179
9. Ben HENRY (QLD), 151
10. Cole ODENDAAL (NSW), 123