News 21 Nov 2011

Curtain caps off 2011 season with Australian Supersport Championship

Kevin Curtain on his way to a third national title win of the year for Yamaha.

Kevin Curtain on his way to a third national title win of the year for Yamaha.

Kevin Curtain was confirmed as the 2011 QBE Australian Supersport Champion at Phillip Island on Sunday, but not before a number of nail-biting moments unfolded.

He entered the event with a healthy lead over Team Suzuki’s Brodie Waters, but as Waters stormed to the race 1 win and Curtain struggled to seventh, the championship closed up considerably.

Waters holeshot the second race, giving himself every chance at the title, but Curtain’s Yamaha Racing Crew had smartened up his R6 and he was able to hold on and score the points he required to wrap up what has been another successful season.

“The crew made some good changes to the bike between races and it felt a lot better,” said Curtain. “I got off to a better start this afternoon and was able to hold onto third.

“It’s been a great year, and a really successful return for Yamaha to the Australian Supersport Championship – I’m happy to have played my part in it.”

WNR Kawasaki’s rising star Glenn Scott showed he will be a true force in future seasons, taking his first Supersport race win to go with a second place.

The result saw him 1 point shy of the round victory, taken by Waters, who was clearly disappointed to miss out on a maiden Supersport crown.

Curtain’s winning margin in the end was just 7 points, with Yamaha privateer Aaron Gobert rounding out the championship podium in third, and first privateer, after a consistent year.

Supersport Round Results:
1. Brodie WATERS (VIC), 46
2. Glenn SCOTT (NSW), 45
3. Rick OLSON (VIC), 33
4. Kevin CURTAIN (VIC), 32
5. Paul YOUNG (SA), 32
6. Mitchell CARR (NSW), 29
7. Aaron GOBERT (NSW), 29
8. Michael JONES (QLD), 26
9. Ryan TAYLOR (VIC), 24
10. Chris QUINN (NSW), 20

Final Supersport Championship Results:
1. Kevin CURTAIN (VIC), 187
2. Brodie WATERS (VIC), 180
3. Aaron GOBERT (NSW), 160
4. Rick OLSON (VIC), 158
5. Mitchell CARR (NSW), 149
6. Christan CASELLA (VIC), 148
7. Glenn SCOTT (NSW), 120
8. Nicholas WATERS (VIC), 113
9. Chris QUINN (NSW), 105
10. Andy LAWSON (QLD), 93