News 6 Dec 2011

Motorcycling Australia releases provisional national calendar

The 2012 Motorcycling Australia provisional national calendar has been released, with dates confirmed for several of the major national series and Australian championships.

Next year will open with a bumper month of Speedway action, headlined by the Australian Solo Speedway Championship Series.

The three-round series will be played out in North Brisbane (QLD) and Kurri Kurri (NSW) before culminating in Gilman (SA) on 21 January.

Sealed track action will heat up early, with Phillip Island to play host to the 19th instalment of the International Island Classic from 27-29 January.

The iconic track will barely have a chance to cool down before the double-header opening rounds of the World Superbike Championship and Australian Superbike Championship hit the Island from 23-26 February.

The Australian Superbike Championship will be run over seven rounds across Victoria, Western Australia, Queensland and the Northern Territory.

February will also see the opening round of the 2012 Australian Off-Road Championship, to be played out in the NSW township of Dungog.

The expanded twelve-round series will once again be held in conjunction with State Championship rounds, and will travel across NSW, Victoria and Queensland before wrapping up in South Australia in August.

April marks the start of the Aussie Motocross season, with the first round of the Australian Motocross Championship to kick into gear in Queensland on 1 April.

The 2012 championship will deliver 10 rounds of Motocross action across Queensland, NSW, Victoria, Western Australia and South Australia, with the finale set to rock the Sunshine State over the last weekend of August.

April will also bring a feast of historic motorcycling action and celebration, with the Easter weekend of 7-8 April set to deliver the fourth edition of the Honda Broadford Bike Bonanza.

Queensland will see plenty of action in April and May, with the Australian Minimoto Championship to be held in Gladstone from 27-28 April and the Australian Speedway Sidecar Championship to be held in Maryborough from 5-7 May.

The World Trials Championship comes to Australia for the first time in May, with the best Trials riders from around the globe to converge on Maldon in Victoria from 26-27 May.

Riders will pack their woollies and head across the Strait when Tasmania hosts the Australian Classic Motocross Championship from 10-12 August.

The Spring months will bring plenty of action, starting with the epic Australian Safari in Western Australia from 21-29 September.

Junior riders from across the country will converge on Coolum in Queensland for the Australian Junior Motocross Championship from 29 September – 6 October.

The Australian Classic Dirt Track Championship will stir up Fairbairn Park in the Australian Capital Territory from 6-7 October.

Victoria will explode into action in the second half of October, with four separate events to be played out in the state over a two week period.

The Australian Quad Motocross Championship to run in Maffra from 13-14 October, before the best womens riders battle it out at the Australian Women’s Motocross Championship from 20-21 October.

The 2012 Australian Four Day Enduro will be hosted in Warrugal from 24-27 October, before the Australian MotoGP hits Phillip Island on 28 October.

Eastern Creek in NSW will be the stage for the Australian Historic Road Race Championship, to run from the 16-18 November.

The Australian Senior and Junior Long Track Championships, Australian Senior and Junior Dirt Track Championships, Australian Supercross, MRRDA, Australian Endurance Championship and Moto Trials expected to finalise their dates in the coming weeks.

View the full 2012 Motorcycling Australia Provisional National Calendar at the MA website.