News 18 May 2015

Hayes wins both MotoAmerica Superbike races at VIR

Anthony takes home a pair of Supersport fourth places.

Source: MotoAmerica.

Source: MotoAmerica.

Josh Hayes was perfect at VIRginia International Raceway today, the Monster Energy/Graves Motorsports Yamaha rider chalking up two dominating Superbike wins during round three of the 2015 MotoAmerica AMA/FIM North American Road Racing Championship.

Starting from pole position, Hayes had his head down from the get-go in both races, storming away from the field to win the red-flag interrupted race one over his teammate Cameron Beaubier by 3.2 seconds.

In race two, the gap was even bigger, with Hayes turning quicker laps to beat Yoshimura Suzuki’s Roger Hayden by 13.368 seconds. In race one, Hayes’ best lap was a 1:24.994. In race two, he did a 1:24.895 on the 2.25-mile North Course.

With Beaubier splitting second- and third-place finishes with Hayden, the Californian managed to keep his championship points lead intact and he leaves Virginia with a 16-point lead over his teammate Hayes, 131-115.

Hayden’s young teammate Jake Lewis is still third in the title chase with his fifth- and fourth-place finishes on the day, with Hayden jumping to fourth with 68 points after his two podiums.

The first Superstock 1000 race, which runs in the same event as the Superbikes but is scored separately, was won by TOBC Racing’s Taylor Knapp over Ryders Alley Racing’s Mark Heckles and Aprilia HSBK Racing’s Dustin Dominguez.

In race two, it was Jake Gagne bouncing back from a mechanical DNF in race one to take his fourth victory of the season with Yamalube/Westby Racing’s Josh Day finishing second after crashing out of race one. Heckles completed his successful day with another third-place finish. Gagne leads the title chase by six points over Knapp, 100-94.

Yamalube/Y.E.S./Graves Motorsports Yamaha’s JD Beach led almost every lap of the 23-lap Supersport final at VIRginia International Raceway on Saturday. Unfortunately, for Beach, it was Josh Herrin who led the lap that counted most. The last one.

The win, Herrin’s second in four races, allowed the Georgian to claw his way back into early season championship contention. The championship leader coming in to VIR was Beach’s Yamaha teammate Garrett Gerloff, finishing third ahead of M4 Suzuki/’s David Anthony.

Beach led every lap of Saturday’s Supersport final, except for the last one, but he wasn’t going to let that happen again in race two on Sunday as he managed to take the lead early and then stretch it, winning by 2.7 seconds over his teammate Gerloff, who was some five seconds ahead of Herrin. Herrin barely beat Anthony after a heated last lap battle.

Beach’s victory puts him atop the championship standings by just a single point over Gerloff, 102-101. Herrin is third with 95 points.

2015 MotoAmerica Championship
Round three – Virginia International Raceway

Superbike race one results:
1. Josh Hayes
2. Cameron Beaubier
3. Roger Hayden
4. Daniel Eslick
5. Jake Lewis
6. Chris Ulrich
7. Bernat Martinez
8. Stefano Mesa
9. Elena Myers
10. Mathew Orange

Superbike race two results:
1. Josh Hayes
2. Roger Hayden
3. Cameron Beaubier
4. Jake Lewis
5. Daniel Eslick
6. Chris Ulrich
7. Stefano Mesa
8. Elena Myers
9. Bernat Martinez

Superbike championship standings:
1. Cameron Beaubier 131
2. Josh Hayes 115
3. Jake Lewis 84
4. Roger Hayden 68
5. Bernat Martinez 67
6. Chris Ulrich 54
7. Elena Myers 53
8. Stefano Mesa 28
9. Daniel Eslick 24
10. Mathew Orange 15

Supersport race one results:
1. Josh Herrin
2. JD Beach
3. Garrett Gerloff
4. David Anthony (AUS)
5. Bobby Fong
6. Tomas Puerta
7. Ben Young
8. Kyle Wyman
9. Hayden Gillim
10. Corey Alexander

Supersport race two results:
1. JD Beach
2. Garrett Gerloff
3. Josh Herrin
4. David Anthony (AUS)
5. Tomas Puerta
6. Cameron Petersen
7. Ben Young
8. Kyle Wyman
9. Corey Alexander
10. Hayden Gillim

Supersport championship standings:
1. JD Beach 102
2. Garrett Gerloff 101
3. Josh Herrin 95
4. David Anthony (AUS) 66
5. Ben Young 48
6. Tomas Puerta 45
7. Kyle Wyman 33
8. Cameron Petersen 32
9. Kaleb De Keyrel 29
10. Hayden Gillim 24

Click here for detailed results