News 14 Aug 2015

Halliday seals Queensland Raceway FX-Superbike pole position

Guenther top of the Supersports in tight qualifying session.

Image: Russell Colvin (YRT).

Image: Russell Colvin (YRT).

Yamaha Racing Team with Yamaha Motorcycle Insurance’s Cru Halliday claimed his third Australian FX-Superbike Championship pole position of the 2015 season on Friday at Queensland Raceway.

Halliday rode the YZF-R1M to a 1m08.685s on lap five of five in the fast-paced qualifying session, setting a new circuit best lap for the category in the process.

“I’m pumped to get pole again,” Halliday beamed. “However it was a bit of a surprise as it definitely wasn’t the cleanest lap that I did, as I did make two mistakes on that lap.

“I know I can go quicker tomorrow, but for sure it will be a dog fight out there as everyone is so close. It’s nice to get another pole position,and sure does help make you sleep a bit easier knowing you are on top and on the front row.”

Making it a YRT with YMI 1-2 was Glenn Allerton, just 0.132s outside of Halliday’s benchmark and marginally ahead of Mike Jones (Cube Racing Kawasaki).

Fourth was Wayne Maxwell (Yamaha Racing Team with Yamaha Motorcycle Insurance), 0.300s off the pace of Halliday and final rider in the 1m08s bracket, from Jamie Stauffer (Team Honda Racing) completing the top five.

A trio of Kawasakis filled positions 6-8, with Matt Walters (Kawasaki Connection), Ben Burke (SA Kawasaki Bcperformance) and Sean Condon (BikeBiz / Ipone / Swann Insurance Racing Kawasaki).

Championship leader Troy Herfoss rode the second of the factory-backed CBR1000RR SPs to ninth, over a second off the pace of Halliday, while Matthew Harding (Kawasaki Connection) rounded out the top 10.

Image: Russell Colvin.

Image: Russell Colvin.

Queensland rising star Troy Guenther (Kawasaki) set a 1m12.334s on his way to the Supersport pole position this afternoon, 0.035s ahead of Callum Spriggs (Yamaha), Rick Olson (Kawasaki), Michael Blair (Yamaha) and Brayden Elliott (Suzuki).

Other class pole-setters on Friday included Paul Byrne (Formula Oz), Darren Wilbow (Formula Xtreme), Samuel Davison (FX300 Ninja Cup), Beau Beaton (Pro-Twins), Adrian Pierpont (Nakedbike) and Danny Pottage (eFXC).

2015 Australian FX-Superbike Championship
Round four – Queensland Raceway

Superbike qualifying results:
1. Cru HALLIDAY 1m08.685s
2. Glenn ALLERTON 1m08.817s
3. Mike JONES 1m08.844s
4. Wayne MAXWELL 1m08.985s
5. Jamie STAUFFER 1m09.046s
6. Matthew WALTERS 1m09.307s
7. Ben BURKE 1m09.435s
8. Sean CONDON 1m09.622s
9. Troy HERFOSS 1m09.868s
10. Mathew HARDING 1m11.285s

Supersport qualifying results:
1. Troy GUENTHER 1m12.334s
2. Callum SPRIGGS 1m12.369s
3. Rick OLSON 1m12.731s
4. Michael BLAIR 1m12.792s
5. Brayden ELLIOTT 1m12.805s
6. Mitch LEVY 1m13.111s
7. Jay PRESEPIO 1m13.150s
8. Luke MITCHELL 1m13.290s
9. Cambridge OLIVIER 1m13.497s
10. Jordan CARLSSON 1m13.768s

Click here for detailed results