News 11 Jun 2016

Honda confirms 2016 Suzuka 8 Hours factory teams

Ex-MotoGP champion Hayden headlines MuSASHi RT HARC-PRO.

Source: Supplied.

Source: Supplied.

Honda Racing Corporation has announced details of its teams to compete in 2016 FIM Endurance World Championship series’ third round, the 39th Coca-Cola Zero Suzuka 8 Hours on 29-31 July.

MuSASHi RT HARC-PRO will be aiming to claim victory with its 2013-2014 winning team riders, Japanese rider Takumi Takahashi and Michael van Der Mark, while 2006 MotoGP World Champion Nicky Hayden will return to Suzuka.

“For me it is a great honour to go and compete in a race such as Suzuka 8 hours with long history and very different type of race with running start, pit stops and working with teammates to find the right set up for all us!” Hayden said.

“With the long summer break we have, I am happy to have a chance to stay on the bike and stay sharp. Will be a long tough challenge with many good teams but would be great to win and add the trophy to my collection.”

F.C.C. TSR Honda, runners-up in last year’s Suzuka 8 hours, will aim to win in 2016 with Kazuma Watanabe, Moto2 talent Dominique Aegerter and World Supersport front-runner PJ Jacobsen. Aussie Josh Hook won’t return to the squad.

Damian Cudlin has been a regular at F.C.C. TSR Honda in EWC this season, but will instead partner Kosuke Akiyoshi and Hikari Okubo in the Honda-supported au&TeluruKohara RT squad at the Suzuka round.