News 13 Feb 2018

Record entries confirmed for Phillip Island ASBK opener

A full grid of 50 Superbike starters to commence 2018 season.

Image: Supplied.

A modern record of 50 entries have been confirmed for the premier YMI Superbike category at round one of the 2018 Yamaha Motor Finance Australian Superbike Championship (ASBK) presented by Motul Pirelli.

With five previous ASBK championship winners on the grid including reigning title-holder Josh Waters, the field will be bolstered by the addition of triple world champion Troy Bayliss.

Team Suzuki Ecstar’s Waters, Troy Herfoss (Penrite Honda Racing), Glenn Allerton (Next Gen Motorsports BMW), Wayne Maxwell (Yamaha Racing Team) and Bryan Staring (Kawasaki BCperformance) have all captured the country’s most prestigious championship in recent seasons.

Over the past three seasons the ASBK paddock has shown consistent growth, from 29 riders in the Superbike class in 2016, 43 in 2017 and a record 50 riders to commence season 2018.

The 2018 ASBK championship will begin alongside the Yamaha Finance round of the Superbike World Championship (WorldSBK) at Phillip Island Grand Prix Circuit between 23-25 February.