News 6 Jun 2022

Maiden 24 hour EWC victory for BMW in Spa

Josh Hook and TSR Honda third in Belgium's 2022 round two.

Image: Supplied.

BMW Motorrad World Endurance Team celebrated its maiden 24-hour FIM Endurance World Championship (EWC) victory with the lineup of Jeremy Guarnori, Illya Mykhalchyk and Markus Reiterberger claiming the top step in the 24H Spa EWC Motos 2022.

Rain for the final five hours made the conclusion in Belgium both challenging and intriguing, as the Tati Team Beringer Racing Team (Kawasaki) excelled to finish P2 outright, and as the top independent team with newcomer Loic Arbel joining Alan Techer and Gregory Leblanc, seven laps down from the lead.

F.C.C TSR Honda France with Australian Josh Hook, Gino Rea and Mike Di Meglio completed the top three in a tight battle with points leader Yoshimura SERT Motul as both squads battled back from major setbacks during the night. Wojcik Racing Team EWC 77 (Yamaha) completed the top five.

After starting from pole, YART – Yamaha Official Team EWC suffered a four-minute delay in the early stages with a speed sensor issue. Riders Niccolo Canepa, Marvin Fritz and Karel Hanika fought their way back into contention before an engine failure ruled the team out of the race.

Team LH Racing (Yamaha) claimed the honours in the Dunlop Superstock Trophy, as Australian Anthony West finished 14th outright with the Maco Racing Team (Yamaha).

Following the first two rounds of the season, Yoshimura SERT Motul holds a 15 point advantage over F.C.C TSR Honda France. YART – Yamaha Official Team EWC is third, 30 points from the lead. The next round of 2022 EWC is the Suzuka 8 Hours, held on 7 August at Suzuka, Japan.

Detailed results