News 19 Sep 2022

F.C.C. TSR Honda France and Hook 2022 EWC champions

Viltais Racing Igol victorious at the 100th anniversary of Bol d'Or.

Image: Supplied.

F.C.C. TSR Honda France featuring Australia’s Josh Hook has been crowned 2022 FIM Endurance World Endurance (EWC) champion following the Bol d’Or at Paul Ricard, France, as Viltais Racing Igol was victorious at the 100th anniversary of the event.

Up until the final 90 mins of the Bol d’Or, ERC Endurance Ducati appeared on course for victory until a mechanical failure denied its chances.

As a result, Wojcik Racing led the field until another late twist saw the Polish squad’s Yamaha slow, forcing Mathieu Gines to push the bike back to the pits for repairs and relinquish the lead. After losing five minutes in the process, Wojcik Racing ultimately finished the race with a season-best P2.

Completing the rostrum at Paul Ricard was Webike SRC Kawasaki, ahead of F.C.C. TSR Honda France who nursed the engine and played it safe to secure the title. Following its late heartbreak, ERC Endurance Ducati finished the 24-hour outing P5, two laps ahead of the Maco Racing Team featuring Anthony West, in sixth.

Viltais Racing Igol’s (Florian Alt, Erwab Nigon and Steven Odendaal) Bol d’Or victory meant the four race wins up for grabs in the 2022 EWC were claimed by four different teams.

While F.C.C. TSR Honda France celebrated title success, there was Bol d’Or heartache for several outfits, including three EWC title contenders, BMW Motorrad World Endurance Team, which qualified on pole, YART – Yamaha Official Team EWC and Yoshimura SERT Motul – all unable to complete the race.

The championship glory of F.C.C TSR Honda France follows on from its title in the 2017-2018 season which also featured Hook as part of its line-up. Team regulars Mike Di Meglio and Hook wrapped up the 2022 crown at Paul Ricard, joined by Alan Techer in place of Gino Rea who suffered serious head injuries in a crash at Suzuka last month.

In the Superstock category, RAC41-Chromeburner claimed Superstock category honours ahead of BMRT 3D Maxxess Nevers in a reversal of last season’s finishing positions with Pitlane Endurance taking third place.

Team 18 Sapeurs Pompiers CMS Motostore took the FIM Endurance World Cup title despite dropping out of contention with a mechanical failure, which took several hours to rectify. However, the Superstock win at Le Mans and a second place at Spa-Francorchamps was enough to secure the title for the Yamaha-powered team, which counted on riders Baptiste Guittet and Hugo Clere from France plus Austrian Philipp Steinmayr.

Detailed results