News 19 Sep 2022

GasGas signing of Fernandez completes 2023 MotoGP grid

A 22 rider line-up to compete for premier class crown next year

Image: Supplied.

The 2023 MotoGP grid is complete with GasGas Factory Racing signing Augusto Fernandez to make the step from Moto2 next season and compete in the premier class.

Fernandez, 24, leads the current intermediate class world championship standings after 15 rounds and has four victories to his credit this season.

The Spaniard effectively takes the place of Superbike World Championship (WorldSBK) bound Remy Gardner, who also made the jump to Herve Poncharal’s outfit after success in Moto2 but lost his ride after just one season in MotoGP.

Fernandez will join Pol Espargaro who returns to the team next season as it rebrands from Tech3 KTM Factory Racing. With Mooney VR46 Racing recently confirming the extension of Luca Marini and Marco Bezzecchi, and LCR Honda signing Takaaki Nakagami once more, Fernandez was the last piece in the puzzle to complete next year’s 22 rider-up.

“Wow, this is amazing: to be able to make the jump to MotoGP with GasGas,” Fernandez explained. “I want to thank everyone in the racing structure around me for all their support since I signed with the Red Bull KTM Ajo team last year.

“I’m really happy. It’s a dream. We still have work to do in Moto2 and I want to go for the title and go to the MotoGP class – and this next challenge – in the best possible way.”

Five races remain in the 2022 MotoGP World Championship, which continues this Friday in Motegi, Japan for round 16. A full 2023 calendar has not been revealed yet, however, the series will commence at Portimao, Portugal – a shift from Lusail which has been the opening venue since 2007.

2023 MotoGP World Championship line-up: 

Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP
Fabio Quartararo
Franco Morbidelli

Ducati Lenovo Team
Francesco Bagnaia
Enea Bastianini

Aprilia Racing
Aleix Espargaro
Maverick Vinales

Respol Honda Team
Marc Marquez
Joan Mir

Red Bull KTM Factory Racing
Brad Binder
Jack Miller

GasGas Factory Racing
Pol Espargaro
Augusto Fernandez

RNF Aprilia MotoGP Team
Miguel Oliveira
Raul Fernandez

Prima Pramac Racing
Johann Zarco
Jorge Martin

Gresini Racing MotoGP
Fabio Di Giannantonio
Alex Marquez

Mooney VR46 Racing Team
Luca Marini
Marco Bezzecchi

LCR Honda
Takaaki Nakagami
Alex Rins