News 5 Apr 2009


Motorcycling Australia press release:

In a spectacular day of racing Todd Waters (Honda) has taken out the Pro Opens class at the first round of the 2009 Australian Motocross Championship, with Jay Marmont (Yamaha) coming in second and Andrew McFarlane (Yamaha) wrapping up the day in third.

Despite wild weather on Friday, which saw flash flooding and several planes struck by lightning, the Albury Wodonga Motocycle Club track held up against the elements, producing conditions for a great weekend of racing.

In qualifying it was reigning 2008 Champ Marmont who clocked the quickest lap, less than one second ahead of McFarlane.

As the riders lined up for the first moto of the three race Sprint Format, it was Ford Dale (Honda) who scored the hole shot and an early lead.

However after 20 minutes of racing it was McFarlane crossing the line first ahead of Waters, who after recently stepping up from the Pro Lites, came in second, and Marmont who managed to catch the leaders to finish in third.

In the second moto both Waters and McFarlane got off to a strong start but at the chequered flag Waters managed to hold off the challenge, securing his first Pro Opens moto victory.

The final moto of the day kept fans and riders on the edge of their seats when some of the starting gates failed to drop and the race was red-flagged.

When the race was finally underway it was Yamaha rider Cheyne Boyd who took a commanding lead ahead of Waters and his teammate Marmont.

On the deeply rutted track, many riders struggled to stay on two wheels with Boyd and Waters both coming to grief and leaving the track open for Marmont to take the chequered flag.

Despite only one moto win, Waters rode strongly enough to secure the round victory in only his second outing in the Pro Opens class.

Todd Waters

“I’ve been putting in a lot of hard work and so has the team, Yarrive Konsky has been flat out with us every single day, so I’m stoked to come away with the win, this is like a dream come true for me.”

(On beating some of the other Pro Opens riders) “It’s an unreal feeling, it didn’t really kick in until I got onto the podium and stood up there next to Jay and McFarlane; their posters are on my walls! They’re amazing riders and running with them is unbelievable.”

Round 1 2009 Australian Motocross Championship Results

Moto 1

1: Andrew McFarlane (Yamaha)
2: Todd Waters (Honda)
3: Jay Marmont (Yamaha)

Moto 2
1: Waters
2: Marmont
3: McFarlane

Moto 3
1: Marmont
2: Waters
3: Cody Mackie (Kawasaki)

Championship Standings
1: Waters 69 points
2: Marmont 67
3: McFarlane 53
4: Mackie 51
5: Cheyne Boyd (Yamaha) 50

Tye Simmonds (KTM) has won the Pro Lites class at the first round of the 2009 Australian Motocross Championship with Josh Cachia (Yamaha) taking out the first round of the Under 19s title fight.

With new riders stepping up in to the Pro Lites class, racing this weekend did not disappoint with some heroic battles staged on the track throughout the weekend.

The Pro Lites and Under 19s both raced the new Sprint Format, consisting of three 15 minute motos, and making for some spectacular racing.

In the first Pro Lites moto 2008 Champ, Luke George (Kawasaki Racing Team), was triumphant; taking the hole shot to gain a commanding lead.

However, by the end of the moto an epic battle was underway between himself and former Under 19s rider Lawson Bopping (Team Shift Motul Suzuki), with George holding on to take the flag by 0.6 of a second.

In the second moto Suzuki rider Matt Moss, was keen to make up for bike problems that held him back earlier in the day, taking the chequered flag.

The final moto for the day saw Kirk Gibbs (Yamaha) stick it to the front runners finding some serious speed, but he was fractionally too slow, with Simmonds taking his first moto win of the day and round honours.

Meanwhile, the lone female, Kristy Gillespie (KTM) did not disappoint her fans putting in a valliant effort to finish 36th overall.

In the Under 19s, young rider, Josh Cachia (Honda) put in a massive effort, riding strong to victory in the first two motos.

Holding off charges from Michael Menchi (Suzuki), Ross Beaton (Yamaha) and Harley Quinlan (Yamaha) Cachia stunned with his speed and fluid riding style.

In the third moto, however, it was Yamaha rider Luke Styke who ended Cachia’s winning streak, taking the flag barely a second ahead of the round winner.

Tye Simmonds

“I felt really good, before the first moto I was really nervous but I felt pretty good out there until I had a crash.”

“At the moment I think I’m a pretty good Championship chance, but it is only early days yet.”

“I was really happy today, but all these guys are on the gas, it was good to get out there and see how rough the track was and it was definitely an eye opener.”

“I like a rougher track, it seems to suit me better but I can’t wait for the next round at Canberra, I’ve heard lots of great things about it so I can’t wait to have a ride!”

Josh Cachia

“I am pretty stoked with today, the new team is great, they’re 100 per cent behind me and they’re providing a good environment to work around.

“The bike is awesome, and even though there are areas I need to work on I feel pretty fit.”

Round 1 2009 Australian Motocross Championship Results

Pro Lites

Moto 1

1: Luke George (Kawasaki)
2: Lawson Bopping (Suzuki)
3: Tye Simmonds (KTM)

Moto 2
1: Matt Moss (Suzuki)
2: Simmonds
3: Mitch Hoad (Yamaha)

Moto 3
1: Simmonds
2: Kirk Gibbs (Yamaha)
3: George

Championship Standings
1: Simmonds 67 points
2: George 60
3: Gibbs 56
4: Hoad 54
5: Moss 43

Under 19s

Moto 1
1: Josh Cachia (Yamaha)
2: Ross Beaton (Yamaha)
3: Dylan Peterson (Honda)

Moto 2
1: Cachia
2: Luke Styke (Yamaha)
3: Harley Quinlan (Yamaha)

Moto 3
1: Styke
2: Cachia
3: Peterson

Championship Standings
1: Cachia 72 points
2: Styke 63
3: Peterson 56
4: Luke Arbon (Kawasaki) 51
5: Beaton 49

The second round of the 2009 Motocross Nationals will be held at:

ACT Motor Cycle Club
Fairburn Park
Pialligo Ave
Majura District ACT

Stay tuned to for all the latest news and results.