News 19 Apr 2009


Dirt Bike Promotions press release:

Ballard’s Wellard Yamaha racer Jarrod Bewley has taken the Outright win of this year’s Hog’s Breath Cafe Australian 4-Day Enduro (A4DE) in what has been one of the closest battles in the 31-year history of the event.

Bewley, 22, from Sydney, went into today’s Jayco Final Motocross Event at Orange, NSW, 22-seconds ahead of MSC Kawasaki’s Toby Price.

Price, 21, from Singleton (NSW) got a good start in the day’s premier race – the main heat for Championship Class 4 – in which Bewley and all five of the top runners were in.

Price got a good start in the six-lap moto and charged up to 2nd, nearly hunting down the leader, Peter Boyle (Honda).

Bewley was further back off the start and managed to get up into 3rd – Price’s ride in the final motocross today closed the gap between him and Bewley, with Bewley winning Outright and Class 4 by 9-seconds.

“Words can’t explain how I feel. I’m all teary and it just shows that all the hard work pays off,” Bewley said.

“From here we’ve got the Australian Off-Road Championship and the [International Six Days Enduro] and I really want to make a stand in that and be overseas one day, this is only the start of it.”

Price was “overjoyed” to finish a close 2nd Outright in his first ever A4DE. To watch video interviews with Jarrod and Toby visit

Third Outright and in the premier Class 4 was up for grabs today between last year’s A4DE winner, Chris Hollis (Husqvarna) and top-contender Anthony ‘AJ’ Roberts, with Roberts finishing Day 3 a mere .146-seconds ahead of Hollis.

Despite a crash, Hollis managed to fend Roberts off to take the 3rd podium spot.

Fourth Outright went to Honda’s Peter Boyle, who’s solid final moto pulled him up two Outright spots, with Roberts 0.5 of a second behind (5th Outright).

Racing was just as close in most of the other classes.

Bewley’s teammate, ‘King’ Kirk Hutton wrapped up the win in Championship Class 3 (250cc 4-Stroke) by 7.7-seconds over Kawasaki young gun Josh Green after a nail biting final moto.

Hutton was the first non-450cc rider to finish in the top-10 Outright, claiming 6th, followed by Green (7th).

Queenslanders Grant Siebenhausen (Yamaha) and Nathan Castle (KTM) had the scorers scratching their heads today – the pair were neck and neck all event and finished one-two in the final motocross – Siebenhausen had a 2-second lead going into today and finished the moto 0.6 of a second behind Castle.

New Zealander Rory Mead looked as if he might have lost his Aussie Class 2 (220cc to 250cc 2-Stroke) title in the final moto today – fellow Kiwi Jason Davis had a blinder and Mead’s bike only just made it across the finish line due to engine trouble.

Mead had a 50-second lead going into today – he ended up limping past the checkered flag and winning by 20-seconds over Davis and another Kiwi, Karl Power.

In the big-bore (Championship Class 5) only 6.5-seconds separated Husqvarna’s Jehi Willis and KTM’s Brad ‘Wonka’ Williscroft going into their heat this afternoon.

Willis put in a strong ride and ended up winning the title by 5-seconds. Geoff Braico who finished 3rd in the class, won the moto.

Yamaha racers easily wrapped up the Championship Veteran’s, Master’s and Women’s today, with Alison Parker taking the Women’s crown, Orange’s own Stuart Bennett the fastest Veteran and Geoff Ballard smoking the Masters by more than 10-minutes.

In the Junior Trophy Team stakes, Queensland were the winners.

And the fastest of the Senior Trophy Team’s was Victoria.

The fastest Club Team was the Southside Time Bandits (Alison Parker, Jemma Wilson and Nathan Castle).

And the KTM Motorex Off-Road Team won the Trade Team division.

For full A4DE results, pics and video go to:

The next event on the off-road racing calendar is the third and 4th rounds of the Yamaha Australian Off-Road Championship (AORC) down the road from Orange at Blayney, NSW, on May 16 and 17. For info or to enter go to

2009 Hog’s Breath Cafe A4DE Outright Top-10
1. Jarrod Bewley
2. Toby Price
3. Chris Hollis
4. Peter Boyle
5. AJ Roberts
6. Kirk Hutton
7. Josh Green
8. Ben Grabham
9. Blake Hore
10. Jehi Willis