News 31 Aug 2009

BSB: Camier on pole position for Monday races at Cadwell Park


Leon Camier, the leader in the chase for the MCE Insurance British Superbike Championship in association with Pirelli title, comfortably claimed the seventh pole start of a dominant campaign ahead of the Holiday Monday ninth round at Cadwell Park.

Riding the Airwaves Yamaha, Camier ran fastest throughout the free practice session and continued that speed and style across the grid deciding Swan Combi 50 Roll for Pole in which he was consistently the fastest, with his pole setting lap around the 2.18 mile Lincolnshire circuit coming in 1m 27.397secs, over half a second faster than the rest.

“To be on pole, considering everything that has happened to me in the past here, is great,” said Camier who two years early had suffered a badly broken leg while racing the circuit. “Good results now will finally put all of that firmly behind me.”

Camier, the winner of all but three of the races so far, building up a massive 113.5 points advantage over his team-mate and title rival James Ellison is confident that he can continue his winning form.

“The bike is working so well, the laps have been consistent and importantly we have a very good setting for the races. This is a hard circuit, physical to ride, but I am in good condition, so all I have to do now is get a good start and go for it,” said Camier.

John Laverty, enjoying his best qualifying performance so far, starts his Buildbase Kawasaki alongside Camier, having recorded a best time of 1m 28.069secs, a split second up on Simon Andrews who, riding the MSS Colchester Kawasaki, claimed the final place on the three rider front row.

Stuart Easton, riding the Hydrex Honda, put in a lap of 1m 28.177secs, to head up the second row from Ian Lowry, who had ridden strongly throughout the weekend on the Relentless Suzuki, with Karl Harris, on the second Hydrex bike, running sixth fastest.

Sylvain Guintoli, returning from injury aboard the Worx Crescent Suzuki, had a best lap in 1m 28.279secs, to be seventh on the leaderboard and with it a third row start alongside Ellison and Julien da Costa. Chris Walker ran tenth ahead on the Motorpoint Henderson Yamaha ahead of John McGuinness on the HM Plant Honda with Gary Mason, twelfth fastest overall, the leading qualifier in the Cup.

Mason, riding the Quay Garage Honda, relegated factory Honda rider Karl Muggeridge, who had slid off twice in the first part of the grid decider, onto the fifth row of the grid, alongside second fastest in the Cup stakes Peter Hickman, on the Ulitimate Racing Yamaha, and Tristan Palmer riding the Buildbase Kawasaki.

Qualifying Results:

1 L Camier Airwaves Yamaha 1m 27.397s
2 J Laverty Buildbase Kawasaki 1m 28.069
3 S Andrews MSS Colchester Kawasaki 1m 28.112
4 S Easton Hydrex Honda 1m 28.177
5 I Lowry Relentless Suzuki 1m 28.193
6 K Harris Hydrex Honda 1m 28.205
7 S Guintoli Worx Crescent Suzuki 1m 28.279
8 J Ellison Airwaves Yamaha 1m 28.551
9 J da Costa MSS Colchester Kawasaki 1m 28.806
10 C Walker Motorpoint Henderson Yamaha 1m 29.154