News 1 Oct 2009

MXON: Strong Australian team for MX of Nations this weekend


This year’s Red Bull FIM Motocross of Nations is set to make its eagerly awaited comeback to Italy after a 23 year long absence. This 63rd edition of the event is happening this weekend at Franciacorta, in the north of the peninsula.

A record breaking entry list including 37 National Teams was already a great preview to the weekend rounding off the 2009 FIM Motocross season being the biggest and most important off road event in the planet. Last year’s podium finishers USA, France and Belgium will be there giving chase to the Chamberlain Trophy while home Team Italy, Germany and Australia have also a strong line up.

A new team America is heading down to Franciacorta chasing their 20th Chamberlain Trophy as the USA are the most successful team in the event-Great Britain follows with 16 wins and Belgium with 14. This year’s lineup includes two debutants Dungey in the MX1 and Weimer in the MX2 while expert Tedesco will be in the Open class. Dungey has won both the AMA Supercross Lites series-Western Region and the AMA Motocross 250cc series but being on a 450cc machine will be a challenge for the youngster. Weimer knows Dungey very well as the duo battled tooth and nail for the Titles Dungey won. Eventually Weimer was second in the AMA Supercross Lites series-Western Region and fourth in the AMA Motocross 250cc series. Tedesco was sixth in the FIM Supercross series and third in the AMA MX 450cc series as he will make his MXoN comeback this year after 2006 and 2005. Team manager for the USA remains MX legend Roger De Coster.

Ending twice second on the MXoN podium in 2007 and 2008, Team France will look for a change in 2009. The three men band will be made of MXoN debutants Frossard (MX1), Musquin (MX2) and Paulin (Open). Regular MX2 GP rider Frossard was a last minute call replacing injured Aubin but a podium at the last GP in Brazil gave the Frenchman a confidence booster to face this unusual ride on the 450cc machine. Factory KTM racer Musquin instead won the MX2 World Title in Brazil and is in superb shape. On the other hand Paulin ended third in the MX2 series after leading the Championship for the opening Grand Prix’s; his strong body shape will make it easier for him to steer the 450cc bike this weekend.

Belgium is another team looking for better fortunes as the squad was third in 2007 and 2008 after a runner up finish to the US in 2006, Stefan Everts’ last MXoN appearance. This year Belgium will have Desalle in MX1, Roelants in MX2 and Ramon in the Open class. This year Desalle took his first two GP wins and managed to get third in the MX1 series. As Desalle, Roelants will also make his MXoN debut in MX2 while veteran Ramon will be a solid contender. The latter had an injury plagued season as he broke a vertebra at mid season but is now fit and hungry for success.

Several injuries forced Great Britain, last year’s home team finishing fourth overall, to change their team’s line up as the team will be eventually made of Mackenzie in MX1, Searle in MX2 and Simpson in the Open class.

Italy instead will be this year’s home team and courtesy of a solid line up they are ready to go for their third Chamberlain Trophy. Missing out on last year’s event due to injury, Cairoli will be back this year onboard the MX1 Yamaha which he just steered to the MX1 Title. The MX2 rider will be Guarneri who completed his best MX2 World Championship season by sealing fourth. David Philippaerts, the 2008 MX1 World Champion and fourth placed this year, completes an all Yamaha Italy Team.

Australia and Germany also have strong teams this year as both seek their maiden MXoN victory. The Aussies line up Suzuki fellow riders Reed, winner of the AMA Motocross series 450cc and 2008 Supercross World Champion, and Byrne with Honda’s Metcalfe rounding off the team. Germany instead has runner up in the MX1 World series Nagl on the factory KTM, young gun Roczen on Suzuki and Siegl on Suzuki as well.

With this Red Bull FIM Motocross of Nations gathering the best riders in the World, the 37 team entry list includes also GP winners such as Barragan of Spain, Coppins of New Zealand, Tanel Leok and Krestinov of Estonia, 2008 MX2 World Champion Rattray of South Africa, Crockard of Ireland, Goncalves of Portugal.

Being just 15 years old, Dutch Herlings and German Roczen will be two of the youngest riders to debut in the event.

Saturday: Free Practice MX1 at 10:00 am; Free practice MX2 at 11:00 am; Free Practice Open at 12:00 am; Qualifying Heat MX1 at 2:30 pm; Qualifying Heat MX2 at 3:30 pm; Qualifying Heat Open at 4:30 pm.

Sunday: Warm-up B-Final at 8:40 am; Warm-up MXoN Group 1 at 9:10 am; Warm-up MXoN Group 2 at 9:40 am; B-Final at 11:00 am; MXoN Race 1 (MX1+MX2) at 1:08 pm; MXoN Race 2 (MX2+Open) at 2:38 pm; MXoN Race 3 (MX1+Open) at 4:08 pm.