News 17 Nov 2009

FMX: Bilko wins Lusk Legacy Rider of the Year at AFMXA Awards


Blake ‘Bilko’ Williams has vowed to continue pushing the sport of freestyle motocross to new heights after winning the Lusk Legacy Rider of the Year at the recent AFMXA awards.

The X Games 15 Gold and Silver medallist was voted by his peers as the rider to have given the most effort and dedication in competition this year.

Williams admitted he was lost for words upon accepting the award and said that it was an honour to receive.

“It was absolutely overwhelming to hear my name announced and to receive an award in Jeremy Lusk’s honour is something that will stand out to me for the rest of my life,” said Williams.

“Jeremy was a great rider, competitor, friend, husband and a real standout rider in the world of FMX who will stay with us forever.

“I want to thank everyone who voted and everyone who is involved with the AFMXA and the valuable work they do.

“I also want to thank my parents for being the most supportive people I could ever wish for during my career, my sponsors for sticking with me through the ups and downs of injury, to all the doctors who have helped to put me back together, Dr Rieman, Dr Kramer, Dr G and Paul Hedger, Matt Cousins at Fluid PR and Jimmy Button at WMG and everyone else who has helped me along the way,” he finished.

Williams recognised the achievements of his fellow riders and said the awards night was a pat-on-the-back for those that put it all on the line, week in, week out.

“Establishing the AFMXA was an important step forward for riders and guys like Brian Deegan and Ronnie Faisst, plus the other members of the board, should be congratulated for their effort,” he said.

“As riders it makes us feel much more safe and secure and lets us focus on progression within the sport.”

Bilko is sponsored by Monster Energy, DVS, Oakley, Fox, Powerhouse, Pro Taper, CTi, Ogio, Pro Circuit, Kicker, New Era, Humps Bumps and Jumps, Empire Suspension and GPR Stabilisers.