News 20 Nov 2009

WSBK: Pirro signs for Ten Kate Honda World Supersport team


Hannspree Ten Kate Honda has confirmed today that Michele Pirro will join the Netherlands-based team to contest the 2010 World Supersport championship on the Honda CBR600RR.

The 23-year-old from San Giovanni Rotondo in southern Italy finished 12th in the 2009 World Supersport series, with consistent top 10 results, a pole position at Misano in Italy and a best finish of sixth in the final round at Portimao in Portugal.

Pirro’s career began in 125cc racing, in which he was European champion in 2004. After two season in 125 GPs, he moved to the Italian Superstock 1000 series, which he won in both 2007 and 2008. He also won every race in the Italian Supersport championship in 2009, which he contested alongside the world series.

Pirro was given the opportunity to test the Hannspree Ten Kate Honda CBR600RR at Portimao after the final race of the season and impressed team manager Ronald ten Kate and the rest of the squad.

Michele Pirro

I’m very happy for the opportunity that has been given to me by the Ten Kate team and by Honda. It is amazing and fascinating to know that next year I will be able to compete with the best World Supersport riders thanks to this high-level team and Honda’s CBR600RR. I’m really excited about next season – I have some important goals and I think I am in a position to reach them. I will try to give back some great results to the Ten Kate team, Honda, my management and all the sponsors who have had such faith in me in recent years.

Ronald ten Kate – team manager

We’re very happy with our signing of Michele, who has already shown that he has great speed. He is also a young rider and we hope to realise his full potential and guide him through the next steps of his career. His impressive test at Portimao made the choice quite easy and we strongly believe that a team with Kenan Sofuoglu and Michele Pirro will put us in a good position to win back our World Supersport title.

Michele Pirro – career history

2004 1st European 125cc championship – Honda
2005 125cc World Championship – Malaguti
2006 125cc World Championship – Aprilia
2007 1st Italian Superstock championship – Yamaha
7th European Superstock 1000 championship – Yamaha
2008 1st Italian Superstock championship – Yamaha
5th European Superstock 1000 championship – Yamaha
2009 1st Italian Supersport championship – Yamaha
12th World Supersport championship – Yamaha