News 21 Sep 2010

Oz RR: WA state titles wrap up on Sunday at Barbagallo

With a total of 75 points up for grabs anyone of the top six Superbike riders are still in with a chance at the final round of the Western Australian Steelblue Road Racing Championships at Barbagallo Raceway on Sunday, 26 September.

Championship leader Ben Henry (Rilusi Suzuki 1000) holds a slim lead of just 11 points after going to battle with Cameron Keevers (Pitstop parts & Apparel Honda 1000) at the last round. Henry gave it everything he had but only managed one of the three race wins with Keevers sweeping to victory in the other two races.

Keevers will take pole position in race one of the three superbike races, while sharing the front row will be Ben Henry, Ben Stronach and Stuart Adams.

Overall fourth place-getter Jamie Boland (Weld West Suzuki 1000) will start from the 2nd row alongside Adam Senior, Kev Boulton and new season B-grader Lubi Safrenak. C-grade rider Andrew Schrape (Industrial People Kawasaki 1000) will be pulling all stops out to take out his first ever Series title in the Steelblue Superbike C-grade series in only his first season of road racing.

Ralph Mammoliti (Causeway Kawasaki 600) has a virtually unassailable lead in the Trakdayz Supersport Championship.

Kalgoorlie based rider Jack Coyle took the lead at the last round of Superstock with a win and two second places, while Mason Coote moved into second spot on the championship leaderboard taking to brilliant race wins.

Early series leader James Reid returned after a high speed crash at the previous round to finish a valiant third overall on the day and hold onto a podium finish for the season, just two points behind Coote.

Coyle is far from safe with Coote just 6.5 points behind and third placed James Reid (Trakdayz Honda 600) only two points behind Coote.

There won’t be a winner in this series until the chequered flag falls for the end of the final race

In the hard fought B-grade series, last year’s winner Kevin Boulton holds a 20 point lead over nearest rival Lubi Safrenak with Andrew Schrape in third position.

Tommy Hatton has an impressive lead in the 125GP Championship having taken nine of the 15 race wins so far this year.

Bunbury-based Dillon McDermott holds down second position with young Aidan Hopkins in third and Max Doughty not far behind. Ben Millington has shown some strong performances in mid season rounds and with two rounds still to go in this championship he could move up the leader board.

The non-stop 18 event programme with support classes of Clubman 1000 and 600cc racing gets underway at 9:00am for practice and racing from 11:45am.

Barbagallo Raceway, Wanneroo, is located end of Wattle Ave, off Old Yanchep Road off Joondalup Drive, Neerabup.