News 7 Oct 2010

Oz SX: Hansen and Reardon confirmed for Super X season

Two-time X Games Super X gold medalist Josh Hansen and American-based Queenslander Dan Reardon have been confirmed for the entire 2010 Monster Energy Super X series, commencing in Newcastle this month.

Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki's Josh Hansen will contest the entire Super X season in Australia.

Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki's Josh Hansen will contest the entire Super X season in Australia.

Two-time X Games Super X gold medalist Josh Hansen, a member of the omnipotent Monster Energy Pro Circuit Kawasaki outfit, will line up for each and every round of the 2010 Monster Energy Super X series.

The mercurial 26 year-old is looking to build upon the race-winning success he experienced in the 2010 AMA Supercross West Region Championship Series.

“I can’t wait to get down to Australia and New Zealand to race,” said Hansen, son of 1982 AMA Supercross Champion Donnie ‘Holeshot’ Hansen. “I have heard how good the fans are down there and I am looking forward to putting on a good show for them.

“I am feeling very fit and focused and although I know the competition will be tough, I hope I can return to the US with the championship,” added the Californian, easily one of the most popular and personable racers to come out of America in recent memory.

“I have to add a big thank you to Monster Energy Kawasaki, Pro Circuit and Mitch Payton for making this possible.”

Hansen will head up an impressive, world-class lineup of international riders heading down on the upside in Australasia.

The news of Hansen’s signing comes alongside the revelation that American-based Queenslander Dan Reardon will contest the series for Cougar Bourbon Honda Racing on a CRF450R for the third season in succession.

Reardon, who rode a Yamaha in the AMA this year, will enter the series as a favourite after finishing second to Australia’s greatest ever supercross rider and twice world champion Chad Reed last season.

Other title contenders in the full time field will be completed by Australia’s best including CDR Rockstar Yamaha’s Jay Marmont, Rockstar Motul Suzuki twins Matt and Jake Moss as well as young gun JDR Motorex KTM’s Tye Simmonds.

American rider Davi Millsaps, who was scheduled to race in the Canberra and Launceston rounds of the series, will no longer be competing after this week announcing that he has signed with JGR Yamaha for 2011.

Tickets to all events are now on sale. To purchase tickets and series information visit