News 19 Oct 2010

Oz MX: New South Wales state titles set for overhaul in 2011

Jay Marmont and Lawson Bopping starred in the 2010 NSW championship.

Jay Marmont and Lawson Bopping starred in the 2010 NSW championship.

2010 became the year that motocross in New South Wales came of age, holding its own as a premier state series. For 2011, the NSW MX Championships will take on a persona like never before.

While this year boasted a new level of exposure and operational professionalism, the 2011 series will be jammed-packed with an all new look and feel – coinciding with several other major announcements still to come towards the end of the year.

The revamped 2011 Championship will kick-off at the Lower Mountains Motorcycle Club, Lithgow on 23-25 April, and while the final day of racing falls on ANZAC day, the ANZAC day public holiday will fall on the Tuesday following the event for those needing a break.

Round two will head north to Maitland District MCC, in the Hunter Valley, on 11-13 June, with the third and final round taking place at Nowra District Motorcycle Club on 8-10 July.

With the 2011 dates now secured, Motorcycling NSW is now focusing on finalising the remainder of the impending changes, something it sees as a major step in the right direction.

“We’ve seen the NSW Motocross Championships grow every year and this year’s series proved to us that the sport has never looked better. So, now it was time to take things to the next level – ensuring that we give something back to the huge amount of riders and families who have supported the series over the past three years,” said MNSW’s Paul Jamieson.

“While we can’t release any details at present, be assured that the 2011 series will be like no other, and will be a event you won’t want to miss.”

More information will be released over coming months about the 2011 series.

In the meantime, you can stay up-to-date or to get more information about entry details etc, online at or contact MNSW on (02) 9635 9177.