News 8 Nov 2010

MotoGP: World champions crowned at Awards Ceremony

Jorge Lorenzo has officially been crowned MotoGP World Champion for 2010.

Jorge Lorenzo has officially been crowned MotoGP World Champion for 2010.

Jorge Lorenzo took centre stage at the Palau de les Arts Reina Sofia in Valencia on Sunday evening as he was officially presented with his 2010 FIM MotoGP World Championship trophy, during the traditional gala ceremony to mark the close of the season.

The Awards Ceremony, which was broadcast worldwide and presented by the BBC’s Jennie Gow and TVE’s Ernest Riveras, culminated with 23-year-old Lorenzo being presented with his first premier class MotoGP World Championship trophy.

President of the Generalitat Valenciana Francisco Camps, Mayoress of Valencia Ms. Rita Barberá and Dorna Sports CEO Carmelo Ezpeleta were in attendance at the glittering event to present Lorenzo with his prize, whilst FIM president Vito Ippolito and Road Racing Commission president Claude Danis handed the Spanish rider his world championship medal.

Prior to Lorenzo receiving his prize a number of other awards were presented as a range of riders were recognised for their achievements this season.

Inaugural Moto2 World Champion Toni Elías and 125cc winner Marc Márquez, who sealed his first-ever world championship title earlier in the day at the Gran Premio Generali de la Comunitat Valenciana, both accepted their trophies as well.

Other categories for which prizes were awarded included the Rookie of the Year, the BMW M Award for best qualifier in the MotoGP class, the Tissot Pole of Poles, Best Grand Prix, and the Team and Manufacturer World Championship titles.