News 2 Dec 2010

AMA MX: MX Sports releases 2011 AMA Motocross calendar

Suzuki's Ryan Dungey will be back to defend his 450 Class AMA Motocross title.

Suzuki's Ryan Dungey will be back to defend his 450 Class AMA Motocross title.

MX Sports Pro Racing has released the calendar for the 2011 Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross Championship in the United States.

The 2011 American Motocross schedule will consist of 12 rounds, with locations from California to New England.

The series includes the best motocross riders from across the globe and is recognised as the most prestigious motocross championship on the planet.

The 2011 season kicks off on Saturday, 21 May with the historic Hangtown Motocross Classic, which is held at the Prairie City Off-Highway Vehicle Park in Sacramento, California.

The series will once again travel the country and conclude on Saturday, 10 September at Pala Raceway, which is just north of San Diego.

“We’re fortunate to boast the best motocross facilities in the world in the Lucas Oil Motocross Championship,” said MX Sports vice president Davey Coombs.

“Several of our tracks have hosted national events for nearly four decades, including such legendary race tracks as RedBud, Unadilla, High Point and more, while our newer facilities present the vision of the future for American Motocross.

“The 2011 season – which will be the 40th year of this tour – is going to be another epic chapter in American Motocross.

Each stop of the 12-round championship will showcase the premier 450 Class, featuring reigning national champion Ryan Dungey, along with the 250 Class, which will crown a new champion in 2011 with the graduation of 2010 title holder Trey Canard into the premier division.

Additionally, the Women’s Motocross Championship will be included at eight rounds of the series – Hangtown, Freestone, Thunder Valley, RedBud, Spring Creek, Moto-X 338, Steel City, and Pala.

2011 Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross Championship Calendar
21 May – Hangtown Motocross Classic – Sacramento, Calif.
28 May – Freestone Raceway – Wortham, Texas
11 June – High Point Raceway – Mt. Morris, Pa.
18 June – Budds Creek Motocross – Mechanicsville, Md.
25 June – Thunder Valley Motocross – Lakewood, Colo.
2 July – RedBud – Buchanan, Mich.
16 July – Spring Creek Motocross – Millville, Minn.
23 July – Washougal MX Park – Washougal, Wash.
13 August – Unadilla – New Berlin, N.Y.
27 August – Moto-X 338 – Southwick, Mass.
3 September – Steel City Raceway – Delmont Pa.
10 September – Pala Raceway – Pala, Calif.