News 5 Dec 2010

AEC: Demolition Plus GAS Honda Racing win The 6 Hour

Josh Brookes and Wayne Maxwell won today's Bel-Ray 6 Hour at Phillip Island. Image: Keith Muir.

Josh Brookes and Wayne Maxwell won today's Bel-Ray 6 Hour at Phillip Island. Image: Keith Muir.

The duo of Josh Brookes and Wayne Maxwell have led their Demolition Plus GAS Honda Racing team to victory in an absorbing 2010 Bel Ray 6 Hour Endurance Race, the Australian Endurance Championship.

A picturesque Phillip Island played host to a brilliant weekend of racing, with the ‘dream team’ of Brookes and Maxwell completing 215 laps in the six hour race to finish ahead of Team Honda Racing and Team Suzuki.

After impressing with their speed in qualifying and earning the Superpole, the GAS Honda were the team to beat and delivered on their pre-race favourites tag.

A delighted Brookes praised the efforts of his GAS Honda crew, singling out the riding of his teammate and close friend Wayne Maxwell for special mention.

“To be partnered up with Wayne, who is one of my best mates, was a real thrill and all the people involved in the Demolition Plus GAS Honda team are all old friends, who I’ve been involved with for many years so it was a great environment to be a part of,” he said.

The British Superbike Championship rider spoke glowingly of the Phillip Island circuit, with the sun-baked track taking the weather element out of the equation.

“The weather didn’t play any part in the race at all and the track conditions were perfect all the way through,” he said.

“This allowed us to work on fuel strategies and tyre management, and in the end it couldn’t have been better.”

In their return to the Australian road racing scene Team Honda Racing captured second place overall with riders Jamie Stauffer and Glenn Allerton taking a deserved podium position.

Team Suzuki rounded out the podium, with the duo of Josh Waters and Shawn Giles finishing third overall.

In a brilliant display from young duo Kris McLaren and Nick Waters, the pair earned a fourth overall finish for their Ankermann Motorsports Honda team and claimed victory in the Superstock 1000 class.

Among the other class winners were the talented Triumph Australia trio of Christian Casella, John Chiodo and Aussie abroad Jed Metcher, who combined to take out the Supersport class ahead of Troy Herfoss and Brodie Waters of Team Suzuki.

The team of Danile Falzon, Levi Day, Liam Wilkinson and Michael Brenton claimed the Superstock 600 crown, while Team Cessnock were winners of the Production and Veterans classes.

2010 Bel-Ray 6 Hour Australian Endurance Championship
Race Results

1. Demolition Plus Gas Honda
2. Team Honda Racing
3. Team Suzuki
4. Ankermann Motorsports Honda
5. Racers Edge Suzuki
6. Pioneer Tanks
7. Team Cessnock
8. Triumph Austalia
9. SW Racing
10. TSA Metal

Click here for detailed results