News 8 Jul 2011

AMA Pro Superbike Championship heads to Mid-Ohio this weekend

AMA Superbike will continue this weekend at the Mid-Ohio Sportscar Course.

AMA Superbike will continue this weekend at the Mid-Ohio Sportscar Course.

When AMA Pro Road Racing returns to Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course on 8-10 July, the series will not only stage yet another action-packed Honda Super Cycle Weekend, it’ll also kick-off Mid-Ohio’s Bike Month, celebrating fifty years of racing at the classic venue.

A proud part of the celebrations, the AMA Pro Road Racing Championship’s own history at the 15-turn, 2.4-mile racetrack stretches back nearly 30 years.

The Honda Super Cycle Weekend presented by Dunlop Tyre will once again see the best in American motorcycle road racing take to the track, led by the stars of AMA Pro National Guard SuperBike.

The overall points race in the class has never been closer, with reigning champion Josh Hayes (Monster Energy Graves Yamaha) arriving in town only two points ahead of Rockstar Makita Suzuki’s Blake Young.

Hayes, who’s earned two 2011 victories thus far and six additional podium finishes, has been consistently forced to do battle not just with Young but with Young’s teammate, Rockstar Makita Suzuki’s Tommy Hayden.

He also faces an ever-increasing threat from M4 Suzuki rider Martin Cardenas, who earned his first class victory at last round’s Barber Motorsports Park event.

Ohio’s Larry Pegram (Foremost Insurance/Pegram Racing) is on new machinery this year, having transitioned to BMW over the off-season, and he intends to shine here at his home track.

Team Iron Horse ESP BMW rider Chris Peris, however, will be looking to give Pegram some brand-on-brand competition, and he’s far from alone among rising challengers.

Chris Fillmore, current points leader in the AMA Pro Vance & Hines XR1200 class, will be joining the National Guard SuperBike field at Mid-Ohio, heading up the first official KTM SuperBike effort run in conjunction with HMC Racing.

The famously hard-fought AMA Pro Daytona SportBike series continues to be a hotbed of nonstop action, having seen five different points leaders already this season.

Momentum seems to currently favor Monster Energy Graves Yamaha’s Josh Herrin, who suffered a slow start to the season before beginning to roll out victory after victory.

It’s GEICO Powersports/RMR Suzuki’s Danny Eslick, however, who holds the overall points lead by a slim, four-point margin.

With Team Latus Motors Racing’s Jason DiSalvo, Vesrah Suzuki’s Cory West, JHR/’s Cameron Beaubier, M4 Suzuki’s Dane Westby, and Celtic Racing’s PJ Jacobsen all having turned in podium finishes this season.