News 18 Jul 2011

Márquez wins Moto2, Faubel takes 125GP tie-breaker in Germany

Héctor Faubel and Johann Zarco tied for victory in the 125GP race at Sachsenring on Sunday.

Héctor Faubel and Johann Zarco tied for victory in the 125GP race at Sachsenring on Sunday.

Marc Márquez took his third consecutive win – his fourth of the season – in the Moto2 race at the Grand Prix of Germany, ahead of local favourite Stefan Bradl and Alex de Angelis, who completed the podium in third.

Bradl (Viessmann Kiefer Racing) had the hole shot off the start, but pole man Márquez (Team CatalunyaCaixa Repsol) quickly took the lead on the first lap of the Sachsenring race, scrapping for the lead with the German until the Spaniard regained first position on lap 22 of 29 to take the win.

De Angelis (JiR Moto2), who started from the second row, pressured Bradl throughout the race, followed by Aleix Espargaró (Pons HP 40) and fourth row starter Yonny Hernández (Blusens-STX), until Espargaró and Max Neukirchner (MZ Racing) collided on lap five, ending the race for both of them.

De Angelis was not able to make a move on Bradl, with the Italian finishing the race in third, half a second behind the German.

Randy Krummenacher (GP Team Switzerland Kiefer Racing) made his move on fellow countryman Thomas Lüthi (Interwetten Paddock Moto2) on the second to the last lap to grab fourth place after the two had sparred with De Angelis for third.

Sixth place went to Hernández, with Scott Redding (Marc VDS Racing), who started 23rd on the grid, in seventh. Simone Corsi (Ioda Racing Project) finished eighth, Jules Cluzel (Forward Racing) ninth and Michele Pirro (Gresini Racing Moto2) in tenth.

A first corner incident took out Julián Simón (Mapfre Aspar), for whom the German GP was his first race back since breaking his leg at Catalunya on June 5th. Simón was unhurt though was unable to rejoin the race.

Bradley Smith (Tech 3 Racing) ran off track in the same incident with Simón, rejoined the race, and then later crashed out.

Márquez remains second in the championship, though has narrowed the gap to leader Bradl to 47 points at the halfway point of the season. The next Moto2 race will be the Brno round on 14 August.

A breathtaking last lap battle between Héctor Faubel (Bankia Aspar), Johann Zarco (Avant-AirAsia-Ajo) and Maverick Viñales (Blusens by Paris Hilton Racing Team) in the 125cc race saw Frenchman Zarco make a move on Faubel out of the last corner of the race, crossing the finish line at the exact same time as the Spaniard.

A video finish determined a tie between the two, and Faubel was awarded his first win of the season by virtue of having set a faster lap during the race than Zarco.

A great start by Sergio Gadea (Blusens by Paris Hilton Racing Team) put him in the lead at the start of the 27-lap race, where he was joined by the likes of Luis Salom (RW Racing GP), Miguel Oliveira (Team Andalucía Banca Cívica), Efrén Vázquez (Avant-AirAsia-Ajo), Nicolas Terol (Bankia Aspar) in an eight-man tussle for the lead.

Meanwhile Viñales was pushed down to tenth at the start, giving the youngster who started on pole a tough job to scrap his way back to the front on the tight and twisty Sachsenring circuit.

Fierce racing ensued, with Terol, Vázquez and Gadea swapping the lead and no break in the front eight until Vázquez was forced off at turn one trying to out-brake everyone and ran off the track, taking him out of the lead pack with 11 laps to go. Vázquez later crashed out of the race while pushing hard to catch the leaders.

With 10 laps to go, there were still six riders fighting fiercely at the front, with aggressive passing and bumping for position between the leaders. Terol faded from the front on lap 22, and Gadea was dropped shortly after when it appeared he had an issue with the clutch lever of the bike.

Meanwhile Viñales had made his way up to Faubel and Zarco, and the three began the struggle for the lead until the photo finish.

Championship leader Terol finally finished in fourth, with Salom and Gadea in fifth and sixth. Jonas Folger (Red Bull Ajo Motorsport), who had tried to stay with the frontrunners but fell back halfway through, ended the race seventh.

Sandro Cortese (Intact Racing Team Germany), Danny Kent (Red Bull Ajo Motorsport) and Niklas Ajo (TT Motion Events Racing) completed the top 10 positions.