Features 31 Jul 2014

Fan Guide: 2014 ASC Rd4 Winton

The second half of season 2014 gets underway in rural Victoria.

From the basking sunshine of Queensland Raceway to the more than likely cold and windy Winton Motor Raceway. We’re going to kickstart this Fan Guide off with a talk about the circuit itself.

Winton Motor Raceway, the current layout was changed back in 1997 to the existing 3km, 12-turn layout clockwise in direction. The top speed on the main straight will see Superbikes getting up to roughly 230kms before they get hard on the anchors and tip left, then right.

Patience is the real key at this rural circuit and it’s very easy to ‘over-ride’ this track. A very unique thing about Winton is that off the start line is 12 meters wide and it funnels into turn one, which is eight meters wide, so it’s unreal to watch a stream of bikes flooding into turns one and two off the start!

Another unique aspect is the fast turn five sweeper. One of the most difficult parts of turn five is to get the apex right; the bike will some time get a bit nervous and will want to move around, but then you have to make a second apex which is around the back of the corner. If riders can make that as nice as they can, it will position them up very nicely to make an inside move into turn seven – a great passing opportunity!

Another great passing opportunity is turn 11. It’s a corner that you can really attack, so you have to be careful not to overshoot the corner when trying for a pass. Another thing is you have to set up turn 11 to make sure you get turn 12 spot on, as that leads onto the lengthy pit straight.

In terms of the championship, the Swann Insurance Australasian Superbike Championship is boiling up very nicely, with just 11 points the difference between Team Honda Racing’s Jamie Stauffer and Team Motul Honda’s Wayne Maxwell, however Stauffer enters this weekend with a freshly broken ankle sustained at Suzuka.

Meanwhile fellow Honda pilot Troy Herfoss is 34-points behind Stauffer. In fourth place in the championship is Dynotech Pirelli BMW’s Glenn Allerton.

Robbie Bugden (YRT with YMI) posted the unofficial fastest lap time during Yamaha’s private test of a 1m24.8, while Cru Halliday posted a 1m25.5 on what was a tough day due to wet-drying conditions. The third Yamaha rider, Rick Olson, only completed a handful of laps.

The Supersport class might be a bit quieter this weekend after South Australian rider Daniel Falzon has withdrawn. This has left Aaron Morris to more than likely walk away with the title, but expect some serious fighting from Aiden Wagner (Wagner Soil Testing/YRD). How will Michael Blair go on his Finson Motorsport Yamaha R6? He will be up there, there’s no doubt about that!

Two people to cast an eye out will be the two Victorian brothers in Mason and Aaiden Coote who are running in fifth and sixth place in the ASC championship. Will the home track advantage come into play for them? And good news is that Callum Spriggs has confirmed his return to racing from a broken collarbone.

All in all, a good weekend is set for us, so why not get your backside trackside this weekend as racing will be sure to be red hot once the red lights go out this weekend!

Image: Russell Colvin.

Image: Russell Colvin.

Circuit location

41 Fox Street, Winton, VIC

Circuit facts

Length: 3km
Turns: 12
Superbike lap record: Rick Olson 1m23.477 on Yamaha R1 07/04/2013
Supersport lap record: Cru Halliday 1m24.724 on Yamaha R6 07/04/2013

Event entry

Friday: Free
Children (under 14): Free
General admission (Saturday or Sunday): $30
General admission (two-day): $40


Friday: Practice in the morning and qualifying in the afternoon.
Saturday: Warm-up until 10:00am then racing up until approx 4:30pm.
Sunday: Warm-up up until 9:45am then racing up until approx 4:30pm.

Entry lists

Australasian Superbike Championship:
1. Matt Walters
2. Chris Trounson
3. Rick Olson
15. Kenny Redding
16. Josh Hook
17. Troy Herfoss
18. Ben Henry
19. Brad Conder
20. Mitch Paynter
23. Chris Seaton
24. Robert Bugden
25. Michael McLinden
26. Sean Condon
27. Jamie Stauffer
28. Glenn Allerton
33. Hamish McMurray
38. Linden Magee
46. Mike Jones
47. Wayne Maxwell
52. Paul Byrne
60. Ben Burke
65. Cru Halliday
67. Glynn Thomas
68. Scott Glenn
86. Beau Beaton

Australasian Supersport Championship:
3. Callum Spriggs
4. Justin Di Giandomenico
5. Aiden Wagner
9. Jordan Carlsson
10. William Davidson
16. Jay Presepio
20. Ben Blyth
29. Patrick Li
51. Brayden Elliott
53. Mason Coote
60. James Greensill
64. Aaron Morris
66. Aiden Coote
68. Mitch Levy
78. Michael Blair
81. Cambridge Olivier
84. Thomas Bryden
86 Chris Mcmillan
96. Luke Mitchell

2014 ASC calendar

Rd1 – 13-15 March – Wakefield Park, NSW
Rd2 – 16-18 May – Mallala Motorsport Park, SA
Rd3 – 27-29 June – Queensland Raceway, QLD
Rd4 – 1-3 August – Winton Raceway, VIC
Rd5 – 12-14 September – Wakefield Park, NSW
Rd6 – 21-23 November – Sydney Motorsport Park, NSW