News 2 Jun 2015

Cudlin claims pair of fifth places at Lausitzring

Consistent weekend in IDM Superbikes for experienced Aussie.

Source: Yamaha Racing.

Source: Yamaha Racing.

Team Yamaha MGM’s Damian Cudlin brought home a pair of fifth places at Lausitzring’s third round of the 2015 IDM Superbike Championship last weekend.

In the races won by Cudlin’s teammate Max Neukirchner and BMW rider Markus Reiterberger, experienced Australian international Cudlin was consistent with his top five placings.

“It’s a good day for our team because Max took the first victory and he did a really great job, so I’m happy for him and the team,” Cudlin commented. “Obviously I would like also to be joining him on the podium, but today we weren’t quite strong enough. We made a small improvement today. The position was the same, but it was a lot closer this time.

“At least this time I was able to catch and pass Lanzi at one point and had a good speed. It was really just the last part of the race where I started to suffer from loss of grip and I started to lose a lot of time at the end. Lanzi was a little bit stronger, so he was able to pass me back and I couldn’t do anything about it.

“It wasn’t the big improvement I was hoping to make, but it’s a step and I think we’re going in the right direction. I really hope that we will be able to continue our progress at the next round at the Nürburgring.”

Cudlin’s two top five results keep him seventh in the overall standings with a 46 points total, heading into round four at Nürburgring in a fortnight’s time.

2015 IDM Superbike Championship
Round three – Lausitzring, Germany

Superbike race one results:
1. Max Neukirchner
2. Markus Reiterberger
3. Xavi Forés
4. Lorenzo Lanzi
5. Damian Cudlin (AUS)
6. Mathieu Gines
7. Roman Stamm
8. Lukas Trautmann
9. Max Fritzsch
10. Matej Smrz
11. Gareth Jones (AUS)

Superbike race two results:
1. Markus Reiterberger
2. Max Neukirchner
3. Xavi Forés
4. Lorenzo Lanzi
5. Damian Cudlin (AUS)
6. Mathieu Gines
7. Matej Smrz
8. Roman Stamm
9. Lucy Glöckner
10. Dominik Vincon

Superbike championship standings:
1. Markus Reiterberger 145
2. Max Neukirchner 101
3. Xavi Forés 100
4. Lorenzo Lanzi 83
5. Matej Smrz 64
6. Jan Halbich 52
7. Damian Cudlin (AUS) 46
8. Erwan Nigon HPC-Power 40
9. Gareth Jones (AUS) 37

Click here for detailed results