News 13 Jun 2015

Wagner named RK Chains Samurai Award recipient

Australasian Supersport Champion wins prestigious award.

Source: Supplied.

Source: Supplied.

Rising star Aiden Wagner has won the most prestigious rider encouragement award in Australia, the RK Chains Samurai Award.

Now in its 26th year, riders such as Daryl Beattie, Mat Mladin, Troy Corser, Anthony Gobert, Anthony West, Broc Parkes, Kevin Curtain, Mike Jones, Josh Hook and many more riders that have gone on to be top internationals have won the RK Chains Samurai Award.

A panel of racing industry experts and riders vote on the award each year at the end of the season. For the 2014 season, it was Wagner who scored the majority of votes after clinching the Australasian Supersport Championship.

“It is a real honour to win this award,” Wagner said. “I’m very excited. Myself and everyone involved in my racing from family to friends, team members and sponsors, have been so supportive of me over the years.

“To win this award means a lot to me and is a great motivator. So many great riders come from Australia and I hope to be one of them! Thanks to Link International, RK Chains and Knee Down magazine for the continued support of Australian riders.”

The Brisbane resident started racing motocross in 2005 and continued until 2010 when he switched to road racing in the 125 GP class. In 2012 Wagner competed in Superstock 600 and FX600, winning the Superstock class at Phillip Island during the MotoGP round. In 2013 he won the FX600 C-grade title and again claimed victory at the MotoGP event.

It was 2014 however that Wagner really shone as his experience grew, winning the ASC Supersport title, finishing second in the ASBK Supersport class and competing in Moto2 at Phillip Island as a wildcard on the Marc VDS Moto2 machine.

RK Chains Samurai Award Roll of Honour:
2014 Aiden Wagner
2013 Matthew Walters
2012 Josh Hook
2011 Mike Jones
2010 Troy Herfoss
2009 N/A
2008 Pat Medcalf
2007 Jason O’Halloran
2006 Jamie Stauffer
2005 Mark Aitchison
2004 Adam Fergusson
2003 Kevin Curtain
2002 Shannon Johnson
2001 Josh Brookes
2000 Craig Coxhell
1999 Broc Parkes
1998 Anthony West
1997 Martin Craggill
1996 Mark Willis
1995 Rip Crocker
1994 Anthony Gobert
1993 Troy Corser
1992 Michael O’Connor
1991 Mat Mladin
1990 Daryl Beattie
1989 Rene Bongers
1988 Mick Doohan
1987 Grant Hodson