News 16 Jun 2015

Inaugural Elite Performance Academy camp complete

Phase one of Motorcycling Australia program a success.

Source: MA.

Source: MA.

The inaugural Motorcycling Australia Elite Performance Academy (EPA) racers have set the bar high for future squad members, according to the program’s exercise physiologist Tim Cole.

The three-day EPA camp, which wrapped up on the Gold Coast on Sunday, has seen 16 of the nation’s best young riders pushed to the limit throughout a number of gruelling physical and psychological testing sessions.

Cole said this year’s initial camp had been blessed with “a great crop of athletes” that each had the potential to excel in their respective racing careers.

“This is a whole new three-year pathway that will be getting our kids ready and helping them get to world championship level,” Cole said. “Being a selection camp, this has been the first step in that process.

“We’ll go away and assess after having a really good look at each of these guys and we’ll pick those that we think are the most likely to become world champions someday in the future.”

Cole also praised the facilities at the squad’s home base for the weekend, the AIS Training Facility at Pizzey Park, with coaches and squad members alike making the most of the top class resources at their disposal.

“It is the best place to train in Australia,” Cole added. “We’ve got everything from the canals right next to us and the beach not too far away either. We’ve got a 400 metre running track and what I think is probably the best gym in Australia here as far as a high performance centre goes.

“As well as that, we’ve have access to some really good mentors – people like Jason Crump and Troy Bayliss are based up here – and the aim is to have them more and more involved as the program goes on.”

Riders to take part in phase one of the program were Rhys Budd (motocross); Mitchell Evans (motocross); Riley Dukes (motocross); Fraser Higlett (enduro); Ben Kearns (enduro); Wil Ruprecht (enduro); Michael Driscoll (enduro); Jaimon Lidsey (speedway); Brody Eves (speedway); Max Whale (dirt track); Billy Van Eerde (dirt track); Broc Pearson (road racing); Tom Edwards (road racing); Nicholas Liminton (road racing); Lachlan Taylor (road racing) and Troy Guenther (road racing).

From the weekend, a squad of eight will be selected for a follow up EPA camp in September.