News 19 Jun 2015

Waters to return with Yoshimura Suzuki at Suzuka

BSB regular will partner Alex Lowes and Takuya Tsuda.

Source: Suzuki Racing.

Source: Suzuki Racing.

Yoshimura Suzuki has announced that it will field Josh Waters alongside Alex Lowes and Takuya Tsuda in the 2015 Suzuka 8 Hours round of the World Endurance Championship.

Waters has twice finished on the podium with Yoshimura Suzuki – second in 2011 and 2014 – at the iconic Japanese race, now aiming to go one better on board the official GSX-R1000 this year.

“I’m very excited to be riding for Yoshimura Suzuki at this year’s Suzuka 8 Hour,” Waters explained. “This is my fourth time riding for the team, so I know them very well. My teammates are both great riders who I am looking forward to working with.

“The Suzuka 8 Hour event is extremely hard, very hot and changing weather conditions. Last year we were close, we will try our hardest to get the best possible result in this year’s race.”

Lowes will replace current Crescent Suzuki WorldSBK teammate Randy de Puniet in the 8 Hour alongside Waters and JSB ace Tsuda, anticipating a strong debut with the team.

“I’m really looking forward to challenging myself at the iconic 8 Hour race and working with the Yoshimura Suzuki team,” Lowes said. “They are a great support to us in the World Superbike Championship and I’m really excited to see how they do things.

“The Suzuka track is a favourite amongst many riders and it’s going to be a lot for me to learn, but I’m really excited about the opportunity. It’s going to be an interesting challenge, especially with the test and race each side of the Laguna Seca WSBK round in July, but think I can go and do a good job.

“I’m looking forward to getting over to Japan, getting started and representing the Voltcom Crescent Suzuki and Yoshimura partnership for my first endurance race.”

The 2015 running of the Suzuka 8 Hour will be held on 23-26 July, headlined by the likes of dual MotoGP World Champion Casey Stoner, Tech3 Yamaha grand prix regulars Pol Espargaro, Bradley Smith and reigning World Supersport Champion Michael van der Mark.

Additional Australians expected to contest the event will include Japanese Superbike regular Josh Hook (TSR Honda), as well as Jason O’Halloran and Troy Herfoss at Sakurai Honda.